My life in the country with my goats.com site

Little Thelma 


Good afternoon from Gullringstorp!
This is little Thelma. We had a hawk come into our chicken yard about 2 weeks ago. All the chickens scattered except little Thelma. I head the noise and ran back. The yard was empty. Not a chicken in sight except little Thelma. She was alone just running in circles in the center of the yard. When I finally got a hold of her, I brought her into the house. After careful handling I discovered several wounds on her tiny fat body. She has been kept quiet inside our home for nearly 2 weeks. 

I brought her back out with the first sign of sun. Well no one claimed her. In fact she was pecked by every family I tried to reintroduce her to.

Only solution is a pen where she has all she needs and the close company of a flock.

She’s not quite right so she’s quite safe in this little pen. She seems happy pecking and nesting in the hay and straw.

Im not sure of her future but this is her life at the moment. She wad very traumatized.🙁

Leave a Reply

