My life in the country with my goats.com site

The Thorns Within an Idyllic Life


I know that it looks so idyllic here at Gullringstorp and for the most part, it is. But from time to time as anyone who has pets or livestock can tell you, there are moments that make you just sit down where you stand and weep. All of you who have followed my life at Gullringstorp and remember when we lost little Miracle, Pumpkin’s boy from a bad heart, Frida my very first goat from old age, our little Lilly, my dear iguana Little lady and most recently our struggle with Florian who survived his illness. You’ve seen the heartbreak that can come with having beloved pets,. As these beautiful and very much loved animals cross the Rainbow Bridge, no animal is less mourned than the other. Nor does size matter.

This happens more in the winter time but can happen during spring and summer. these little babies get thirsty, lean into the water buckets to drink and always fall in. The sides are too slippery to climb so they unfortunately drown. I’ve seen this often but this little fella just broke my heart. All you see at first is a tiny face bobbing in the water, then you can see the form of its tiny body. Normally I take the water bucket and dump water and mouse together over the fence. I could not do the same, with this tiny face looking up in my direction. I took him out to see if he could be saved. He was perfect, tiny feet and hands. He could not be saved but I could not throw this tiny baby that had met an unfortunate end, over the fence. I held him for a bit and apologized for his death the laid him gently in the soft grass.

Even an idyllic life has its thorns.

IMG_0001IMG_0003

5 responses

  1. What a lovely thing to do in an often fast-paced, overlooking and desensitized world. Your kind soul speaks volumes. Thank you for honoring the small and ovelooked aspects of life!

    June 7, 2015 at 16:44

    • GullringstorpGoatGal

      Hej from Gullringstorp!
      Thank you for your very kind words.

      June 7, 2015 at 17:57

      • From the heart! ❤️

        June 7, 2015 at 18:11

  2. Wow…I know it’s a mouse, but you’re right; there’s something about him that makes one stop. I have no idea why certain things, common things, can be so heartbreaking but they can and do. Perhaps because he’s a baby with so much potential before him and he’s so tiny and cute and adorable. Poor little guy!

    June 7, 2015 at 22:29

    • GullringstorpGoatGal

      Hej from Gullringstorp!
      I think all the reasons you so nicely stated are why I was so touched. As I held him, those tiny wet feet were just so precious. I hoped that maybe he wasn’t completly gone. I gently tapped his tiny chest, I think knowing all the time he had already gone. It was just very sad. It is life on a farm, I know, but one never hardens their heart nor should they. Thank you.

      June 7, 2015 at 23:01

Leave a Reply

