My life in the country with my goats.com site

Good Morning from Gullringstorp



It is with sadness in our hearts I inform my followers and kind supporters, that this morning our Rosie could fight no more. Leif and I decided that we would take her in to the vet this morning because her struggle to survive was becoming too tough for her.As I lay in bed this morning, I had already let her go. I felt her spirit leave but I felt like a boulder on my chest pinning me to that bed. Indeed she had left us just within the hour I could not get out of my bed.

As I walked into what is usually a din of goat chatter from every corner of the stable, it was deathly silent. I knew. Each and every goat looked as though time had stopped and they had turned to stone. All I could see was the knowledge that they all had lost Rosie. I saw it in their eyes. I have never seen anything like it before. The sadness in that stable was absolutely palpable. Still is.

In time I let everyone out of their boxes. They comforted each other and found their way to her box, to sniff and stand in silence. I went in to comfort each of the bucks who looked shell shocked at me through the bars. Each one wanted and expected to be held close and kissed.

We will have her body shipped to the north for autopsy to determine exactly what caused her to become so ill that nothing we did could save her. We just need answers.

We will all miss our little Rosie. Farewell Rosie.

Thank you, everyone who gave your loving support to both myself and Rosie. Your kindness will never be forgotten.

IMG_0014

You can read about Rosie and her illness on my Facebook page  https://www.facebook.com/gullringstorpgoatgal.gullringstorp

3 responses

  1. Firstly, poor poor Rosie. I used to have a baby goat and she looked just like that. Secondly I am glad to see a place where goats are treated kindly and not used for religious slaughter or eating.

    February 22, 2014 at 10:49

    • Hej from Sweden!

      Thank you for your kind words. Rosie was nearly 4 yrs old and was born in our stable. We started with just 3 misfit goats and have grown our herd over the years. This photo of Rosie was taken as a baby when her baby brother died of heart issues.

      We do our best with our herd and try to keep them as healthy as possible. We have goats because of my business Li’l Sis Goat Milk Soap. I know I should think of them as business assets, but they each are so very special and I love them dearly.

      If and when we sell which is seldom, we make sure we know where they are going and what kind of home. We do get calls from households that wish to slaughter them especially for the Islamic religious holidays and we NEVER sell to them. They have to look somewhere else.

      If you return to my blog, you read about the story behind that photo in a post called, “A Friend for Rosie”.

      February 22, 2014 at 12:28

      • Thank you. On behalf of all of us animal friends and supporters. 🙂
        I shall look up the post.

        February 22, 2014 at 14:33

Leave a Reply

