My life in the country with my goats.com site

Phillip Gets a New Mommy and Daddy


Good morning from Gullringstorp !It’s 5 mins before the buyers come by to pick up Phillip. I’m not happy at all. This is necessary but I’m still not happy. There’s a knot in my stomach and a tear waiting to fall. I made a Phillip Baby Book for them so they can see him from his first day.I sure hope they are nice people.

I knew all along I had too many bucks, I have 7 and many were born here at Gullringstorp. They have grown up and with the weather as it’s been , they can’t                                           always be outside. Boys will be boys and they wrestle a lot. I feel its not safe for them to be confined during the rainy days. We of course expected snow to confine them but now it’s rain. I will keep his two brothers, but I am so sad today. I can read people within seconds and I’m rarely wrong. If I’m not comfortable, he stays put.
They have arrived and they seem like really nice animal people.
I stood outside of our stable watchng the road that would bring the people who wanted to buy our Phillip

I stood outside of our stable watching the road that would bring the people who wanted to buy our Phillip

We introduced our selves and at this moment I could not tell you their names. My thoughts were only on Phillip as they spoke.

We introduced our selves and at this moment I could not tell you their names. My thoughts were only on Phillip as they spoke. Once inside, they met all our goats and learned a bit about each one.

Phillip's new mommy and daddy

Phillip’s new mommy and daddy. See, don’t they look nice?

I took Phillip out and they let him take his time coming to them

I took Phillip out and they let him take his time coming to them

His new mommy came down to meet Phillip. I stayed close for reassurance, but I eventually pulled back to allow him to bond with his new parents.

His new mommy came down to meet Phillip. I stayed close for reassurance, but I eventually pulled back to allow him to bond with his new parents.

Both of his new parents wanted to meet and introduce themselves to Phillip.

Both of his new parents wanted to meet and introduce themselves to Phillip.

I spoke about what he is used to. I made sure they understood that as an adult buck he can no longer have grain and that he needs to  have hay. The spoke about ensilage but I let them know it was not good for goats and that he could die from bloat, too much gas in the stomach. Larger animals like horses and cows can eat ensilage with no problems, but goats are a bit different.

The boy's were a bit confussed when Phillip left the box, without them. His brothers Winston and Little Man were wondering what was happening.

The boys were a bit confused when Phillip left the box, without them. His brothers Winston and Little Man were wondering what was happening.

Time for Phillip to leave us. He was reluctant to walk with his new mommy but I came close for extra reassurance. I backed away after a bit so that he could feel comfortable with his new mommy

Time for Phillip to leave us. He was reluctant to walk with his new mommy but I came close for extra reassurance. I backed away  so that he could feel comfortable with his new mommy

 

Phillip wouldn't move for a bit. He was looking back at the stable and talking with the boys inside

Phillip wouldn’t move for a bit. He was looking back at the stable and talking with the boys inside. His new mommy was very caring and understanding.

See how far away I stood?

See how far away I stood?

 

She was very patient with Phillip as he kept glancing toward the stable door. She waited and let him walk when he was ready

His new mommy was very patient with Phillip as he kept glancing toward the stable door. She waited and let him walk when he was ready

Well I had held up fairly well until I watched Phillip’s new daddy place the hay in the truck. I just had to walk away as the tears began to fall.

Phillip's new parents had prepared a nice bed of straw for his ride to his new home, in the back of their truck

Phillip’s new parents had prepared a nice bed of straw for his ride to his new home, in the back of their truck

I filled a basket of hay for Phillip's trip to his new home

I filled a basket of hay for Phillip’s trip to his new home

I could see that Philip was very comfortable in the truck just before the lid was closed.

I could see that Philip was very comfortable in the truck just before the lid was closed.

I am still sad that our Phillip has left us , but I am so happy that Phillip’s new parents will love him. they have lots of animals: 2 does, a mini pig, cats, a dog and hens. Now they have a buck.

I hope that Phillip doesn’t have a hard time settling in to his new environment. I hope he settles in real fast. I hope he doesn’t miss his pals too much. It will be all new for him but I am sure he will be happy and cared for with love.

Goodbye my sweet little Phillip!

 

3 responses

  1. Awwww… I’m sorry he had to go. His new mommy seemed very nice so I am sure he will be cared for 🙂

    January 5, 2014 at 18:56

  2. Awww, Phillip is gone. it must have been hard to watch him leave.

    March 1, 2014 at 03:15

    • Hej from Sweden!
      You know I had 7 bucks. Way too many, but I just couldn’t sell the ones born here at Gullringstorp. He went to a nice home and yes of course I cried and miss him still. Somehow, 6 just works better. Every goat is special. I still have both of his brothers and sister and mommy. That feels good .

      March 1, 2014 at 14:49

Leave a Reply

