My life in the country with my goats.com site

Li’l Sis Goat Milk Soap Attends Another Market in the Swedish Countryside


This was a tiny Handcrafts Market nestled in a beautiful wooded area of the Swedish countryside not far from home. We arrived early so we could get the “lay of the land” and choose our spot that would highlight Li’l Sis Goat Milk Soap table. In the end, I was quite happy with our choice. I love cozy nooks  and I found one nestled up next to a lovely little wooden building. I felt quite happy in our little space.

Everyone was  worried about the weather and prayed it would not rain. It became a joke that if it rained, everyone would have to take a bath with all my soap getting wet.

It was a lovely Market and we had a great day!

We were in the woods...

We were in the woods…

Every little village has a Hembygård, a social activities location

Every little village has a Hembyds gård, a social activities location                                                                                                                          

Time to unload the tables and everything to set up in our little corner of the Marknad

Time to unload the tables and everything to set up in our little corner of the Marknad

Li'l Sis Goat Milk Soap table was finally set up in our little nook

Li’l Sis Goat Milk Soap table was finally set up in our little nook

Once our table was set up, it was time to look around before the guest arrived

Once our table was set up, it was time to look around before the guest arrived

There was a woman working an old fashioned crochet piece

There was a woman working an old fashioned crochet producing a beautiful intricate piece

Look at that beautiful old Swedish spinning wheel. I would really like to have one of those

Look at that beautiful old Swedish spinning wheel. I would really like to have one of those

This lady was very skillful with the wool and that spinning wheel

This lady was very skillful with the wool and that spinning wheel

Local grown fresh farm produce. Oh the flavors of FRESH !

Local grown fresh farm produce. Oh the flavors of FRESH !

Baby plants for sale

Baby plants for sale

A common Swedish thing is to have a lottery at events and house parties. Well, Leif bought us two tickets and when I opened mine, it was #27. I was 27 whenI had my daughter so this was a lucky number even at the Marknad. I WON!!!

A common Swedish thing is to have a lottery at events and house parties. Well, Leif bought us two tickets and when I opened mine, it was #27. I was 27 whenI had my daughter so this was a lucky number even at the Marknad. I WON!!!

Parking for the Marknad was wherever you can find space in the woods

Parking for the Marknad was wherever you can find space in the woods

Swedish people are very fond of their waffles. They even have a Waffle Day. These are not the fat fluffy waffles, but thin crisp waffles topped with grädd (whipped crean) and sylt (jam). YUMMY !!!

Swedish people are very fond of their waffles. They even have a Waffle Day. These are not the fat fluffy waffles, but thin crisp waffles topped with grädd (whipped crean) and sylt (jam). YUMMY !!!

See,isn't it just so beautiful ? I wish you could smell it and taste it.

See, isn’t it just so beautiful ? I wish you could smell it and taste it.

Oh dear. Raindrops! I had to pack up  the bulk of the soaps and left one out for display

Oh dear. Raindrops! I had to pack up the bulk of the soaps and left one out for display

One of our dear neighbors, her son supplies the oats for our goats, with the bag I gave as a gift

One of our dear neighbors, her son supplies the oats for our goats, with the bag I gave as a gift

This cute little wooden building is actually a very old Swedish outhouse.

This cute little wooden building is actually a very old Swedish outhouse.

This is the inside of one side of the outhouse.

This is the inside of one side of the outhouse.

There's the side door for cleaning access

There’s the side door for cleaning access

Time to pack up. the sky didn't look so happy

Time to pack up. the sky didn’t look very happy

We packed up, made it home and got the goats in before the rain came

We packed up, made it home and got the goats in before the rain came

It was a great day with good sales and the best part, meeting nice new people. We are hoping to participate in a much larger Marknad in the South in July.

None of this would have been possible without my lovely goats.

Thank you ladies for your wonderful fresh goat milk!

4 responses

  1. Che

    Looks like you had a great day! I love your idea of putting the display bars of soap on slices of tree branch!
    🙂 Che

    June 17, 2013 at 14:19

    • Hewj from Sweden !
      Yes it was ! My husband cut those small pieces and presented them to me and said maybe i could use them in some way. I knew immediately how to use them. They were a great idea and just help my Eco-Friendly Earth Friendly theme flow. the other end of those cute little rounds of log , will be the wood that will heat our home in the coming Winter.

      June 17, 2013 at 15:01

  2. That sounds like a great time and a beautiful setting 🙂 Your table looked so pretty… I am so happy for you 🙂

    June 17, 2013 at 15:06

Leave a Reply

