My life in the country with my goats.com site

Spring Weekend at Gullringstorp May 4 & 5


This is a typical Spring  weekend here at Gullringstorp. We have the goats and chickens to care for and  the property. There are the usual chores on a farm property. Things need mending, fixing and just plain tending to.

The cats and fish that are in the house get fed first thing. Then off to the stable with my bucket of chopped veggies and fruit and molasses water for the mothers. Max always joins me and Leif follows later. I make a quick check on the new mothers and their new babies and when all is fine, I say hello to all the others on the other side of the stable. Max and I fill a wheelbarrow full with hay to take out to prepare the enclosure for everyone who goes out. The boys were so happy to go out as were the other ladies and girls.

We have with the help of Leif and my daughter, finally got names for all the new babies, even the little boy who will be sold.

Iris’ daughter is Blossom and her son who will be sold to a good home is Florian

Pansy’s daughter is Lilly

Poppy’s son is Huckleberry

Pumpkin’s daughters are, Willow and Violet

Peanut is still a mystery, no babies and no heats for the past 5 months! Hummmmmm

Once everyone is out and happy, I returned to the stable to tend to the new mommies and babies.

Iris and her babies :

,,

A fun place to snuggle

,,

Blossom and Florian rest with mommy not too far away

Pansy and Lilly:

,,

Pansy never lets Lilly out of her sight

,,

Pansy's food station: grain, treats and molasses water

Pansy’s food station: grain, treats and molasses water

Pumpkin and her daughters, Willow and Violet :

,,

Pumpkin is our wild child goat, but oh what a mommy she is !

,,

Time for a snack

,,

What a cute little bottom !

,,

Willow, with the white front paw like mommy is the little baby that required a splint on her leg. she is fine and her foot is as it should be

,,

This is little Willow who had the splint on her leg. She is doing just fine

Willow and Violet are so cute

,,

,,

,,

Pumpkin is always talking to her daughters

,,

Even when she is eating

,,

This baby wants to try mommy's food

This baby wants to try mommy’s food

Willow wants to see what its all about also

Willow wants to see what’s in the container also

,,

Mommy gets a kiss from Willow

After I take care of Iris and her children, I work on the other 3 families, starting with Pansy.  Then I took care of the box of Poppy and her baby boy. I took all that was needed into Poppy’s box to be able to take care of both boxes. It’s just easier for me.

Poppy wants to see what I am doing in Pumpkin's box

Poppy wants to see what I’m doing in Pumpkin’s box

Poppy's son decides to see what's in all those baskets

Poppy’s son Huckleberry decides to see what’s in all those baskets

,,

What a cutie!

,,

Huckleberry tries to get into the grain bucket

,,

Poppy checks on me in Pumpkin’s box

Huckleberry is curious about that bucket

Huckleberry is determined to jump in t he grain bucket

Mother and son

Mother and son

After the mothers and babies have been taken care of, I went to check on the other goats in the enclosure. They had run themselves out and all resting:

My little bucks relax in the Springtime sun

My bucks Toby, Baby Boy(Bear), Little Man in the back and Pip relax in the Springtime sun

Little Surpise and Nanna found a nice place to rest

Little Surprise and Nanna found a nice place to rest

Petunia found a nice place in the sun

Petunia found a nice place in the sun

I was a bit worried about some of the ladies out in the enclosure:

Petunia, Surprise and Ivy have never been separated from Iris. They are doing fine as long as they can hold conversations with her from the stable.

Rose is such a mamma’s baby that she never likes to be without Pumpkin. She is doing better than I though, finding a little group to attach herself to in the enclosure. She will stand and eat hay with Peanut and her mother Hilda.

Leif has been busy with our firewood supply. this weekend he has been cleaving the logs he cut earlier. I think I posted earlier that he was cleaving the wood, mistake, he was chopping.This weekend he cleaved the logs with his new machine:

He has a neat old tool that helps lift the logs

He has a neat old tool that helps lift the heavy logs

,,

,,

,,

,,

Once the log was cleaved in half it was cleaved again  into smaller logs to fit into our burner in the basement

Leif was smart and set up the cleaving machine right in front of the outdoor wood storage. After the log has been cleaved, he can just toss it in the storage

Leif was smart and set up the cleaving machine right in front of the outdoor wood storage. After the log has been cleaved, he can just toss it in the storage

Looking at all those beautiful logs, I got an idea; why not bring ion some logs for the babies to play on. Poor Leif, I never run out of ideas and ways for him to help. But he was kind and asked me to pick out the logs I wanted from the big pile. When I found the 3 perfect ones he brought them into the stable and placed them where they belonged. He thought he should cleave them in half so they would have a flat bottom to sit stable in the boxes. When I said no , they are fine as they are he was not so sure. I was.

Here are my 3 beautiful logs

Here are my 3 beautiful logs

Here is the log for little Lilly

Here is the log for little Lilly

Pansy was so nice, she thanked us for her log which she nibbled the bark off

Pansy was so nice, she thanked us for her log which she nibbled the bark off

Poppy and her son huckleberry check out their new log

Poppy and her son huckleberry check out their new log

Look at that baby!! I could just eat  him up!!

Look at that baby!! I could just eat him up!!

Pansy says thank you also

Pansy says thank you also

Leif had concerns about these logs, he didn’t think they would be appreciated. Well,  just look at Huckleberry:

I hope you had sunshine for this this Spring weekend and you were able to be out enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

