My life in the country with my goats.com site

Archive for May 1, 2013

Updates From the Maternity and Nursery Wards at Gullringstorp May 1


Oh my, what can I say? Our stable here at Gullringstorp is alive with the sounds tiny hooves and sweet sounds from our new babies.

I had a shock last evening on my evening rounds to feed and get everyone ready for bed. When I entered the stable, the very first box holds our first mother to deliver, Iris with her little girl and boy. One peak in said it all; the babies were happy, running and hopping all over the box. Next box, Peanut was relaxing with her mommy Hilda. No baby has come yet, still waiting. All the while I was hearing a sound that I was not so sure was Poppy chatting with her baby boy. I knew it wasn’t Pumpkin, I recognize all their voices. As I peaked in to say hej to Pansy and look through the fence to check on Poppy and her son, I noticed a different look on Pansy’s face as she looked up at me. She looked like, “well…?”I looked down and saw a baby snuggled up against her box door. First thought, Oh no Poppy’s boy got through the barrier ! Then I was afraid that Pansy might injure this little baby. Oh my heart was beating so fast , I can’t tell you. then all of a sudden, Poppy’s baby boy hopped out into view just where he was supposed to be, on his side of the barrier with his mommy, safe and sound.

After the shock wore off and Leif had arrived and we enjoyed the new baby, I continued my trip down the stable and Pumpkin and her daughters were doing very well. Rose was getting more and more used to the barrier. the second half of our stable is now known as the low maintenance wing. Nanna was in heat , but no problem with that, just loud, the boys were out of hay, not at all unusual, Alika, Keriana and her daughter Fiona were just waiting for their dinner. I asked Leif to stay and keep a close eye on baby Lilly and mommy while I took care of the rest.

Pansy had a baby approximately 6:30 pm April 30, 2013 !

Pansy showed absolutely no signs she was going into labor so in between our checks on the goats throughout the day, she decided to have a baby. Her baby was still wet and she was busy cleaning up the after birth. Of course I went to the stable without my camera. Once I caught my breath, I ran back to the house to grab my camera. When I returned, I panicked. The baby was laying flat as a pancake while Pansy was frantically licking the baby. I was so afraid that the baby hadn’t made it. I was alone so I called my husband in the house. In the meanwhile, I couldn’t wait for him so I went in and lifted up that tiny head and up the baby got. Oh be still my heart. this baby was up on those tiny legs and began talking to mommy. By t he time Leif made it down to the stable the baby was actually walking around and exploring . When I aroused the baby, I picked the baby up and did a quick inspection. A GIRL !!!!! Oh happy day! I named her right away.

Meet Lilly and happy proud mother Pansy:

,,

Pansy is as wonderful mother as was her own, Frida. She and Poppy had the best teacher there could possibly be.

,,

You can see Poppy loving her little boy in the other half of the box as Pansy tends to her new daughter

,,

,,

Looking so cute Lilly!

Baby knew there was milk somewhere, but couldn't find it  or just hadn't yet

Baby knew there was milk somewhere, but couldn’t find it or just hadn’t yet

Pansy's mouth was constantly going, either chatting or cleaning her baby

Pansy’s mouth was constantly going, either chatting or cleaning her baby

Happy Birthday Lilly !

Happy Birthday Lilly !

,,

Lilly waits while mommy continues to clean up all evidence of a birth. She even cleaned the blood of the boards on the side of the box

,,

Constant licking dries the baby quite quickly. Good thing because even though it’s Spring, we have winter temperatures during the evenings and nights

,,

Lilly decides to take a walk as mommy calls to her

Pansy gets the Gullringstorp birthing molasses and chopped veggies and fruit

An exhausted Pansy gets the Gullringstorp birthing molasses and warm water with chopped veggies and fruit. Baby takes a well deserved rest

After some time, Lilly found the milk store had a drink or two and was looking stronger.

After some time, Lilly found the milk store had a drink or two and was looking stronger.

Lilly is so beautiful with coloring from her father Balder and she's a large baby that she got from her mommy.

Lilly is so beautiful with coloring from her father Balder and she’s a large baby that she got from her mommy.

I went to bed last night with joy and trepidation in my heart. I hoped that what I saw in Lilly and her mother was just temporary. I was so afraid that we had a weak baby and a mother who may not have survived her delivery. I woke up this morning and sat on the edge of my bed a bit terrified to dress and make my way top the stable. For the first time, I was actually afraid of what I might find.

We are still blessed…. Lilly was fine and happy this morning as was her beautiful loving mother Pansy.

Thank you, Thank you from the bottom of my heart…