My life in the country with my goats.com site

Updates From the Nursery Ward at Gullringstorp Part 5


Last evening on night rounds, I had a feeling that one or both of my does would deliver, soon.  Pumpkin and Peanut are my two does who are due to deliver next. Pumpkin lays down a lot just before she goes into labor. Peanut is a first time fresher so I have no history yet on how she will labor and deliver. Pansy will be the last doe to deliver near toward the first of May.

It was a beautiful sunny morning and we planned for the goats to go out and for Leif to not only clean out a box but take away all the straw that has been accumulating in the corridors on both wings of the stable. The winter has prevented us removing the straw that was pulled out of each box to be able to close the doors. Once the snow melted , we have had either rain or wind that made the removal not possible. Leif went out to let our bucks out first and start on their box when lo and behold there were two new residents in our stable!

Pumpkin had given birth within the hour before we were there in the stable. Sneaky little lady, second time she delivered on her own , in privacy. She looked well and her two babies look nothing like her. They are identical clones to their father Little Man. This is Pumpkin’s second pregnancy and delivery here at Gullringstorp. Her first pregnancy went well with the delivery of a boy and a girl. We unfortunately lost her little boy within a month due to a heart defect. That changed Pumpkin and she became very protective of her remaining baby, Rose.

This morning around 0730 April 28, 2013 our Pumpkin gave birth to 2 baby girls!

,,

,,

,,

,,

,,

,,

,,

,,

,,

,,

,,

I had enjoyed the babies for a bit and made sure that Pumpkin had hay and grain where she was comfortable, then I placed fresh straw in for her and the babies. Leif was putting hay out for the boys so it was time to take them out. I hated to leave the babies but the boys were waiting:

,,

..

,,

,,

IMG_0033 IMG_0034

,,

Once the boys were settled in their enclosure, we prepared to take out the girls. I was a bit worried about some of our girls today. Pansy would be out without her sister Poppy for the first time. Petunia, Ivy and Surprise would be out without Iris for the first time. Rose would be out for the very first time without her mother Pumpkin. Each of these young ladies is very close to their box partner. Petunia, Ivy and Surprise make up a sub-herd within our herd because of the number of goats that share the same box.

We were so happy to see them all outside and enjoying themselves in the sunshine!

While the boys and girls enjoyed themselves in the enclosure, Leif began his job of removing straw and cleaning out the boy’s box. All the straw went out to the fields:

,,

,,

I finally had the time to go in and really check on our new babies. They looked so beautiful and so very much like their father Little Man:

Little man's beautiul horns at 1 1/2 yrs old

Little Man

On closer inspection of our new baby girls, I noticed that one little one had a turned under foot. I manipulated her foot to make sure it was pliable and it was. It may have been the way she was delivered or she might just need help in straightening that little foot out. My Internet was down , temporarily but I just instinctively knew that if I could straighten the foot, then she just might need a splint. Now to find tiny wood or something else sturdy to use. I found cute tiny emery boards and grabbed the electrical tape.  It went very smoothly when I placed the splint on that tiny leg. She was not upset at all. Pumpkin was curious but she trusts me so she was not really worried or concerned.

,,

This little girl was relaxing as I fixed her sister's little leg

This little girl was relaxing as I fixed her sister’s little leg

Pumpkin did come over just to make sure all was well with her little baby

Pumpkin did come over just to make sure all was well with her little baby

Pumpkin returned to check on her other little baby

Pumpkin returned to check on her other little baby

Once I saw that the little baby could get around with the splint on, I was back to the house to make Pumpkin her birth morning breakfast. I arrived back to the stable with warm water and molasses and a nice bowl of chopped fruit and veggies  actually all three new mothers got the same thing):

,,

I went back into the house started this post and had a call from my daughter . She wanted to Skype but I had a strange feeling and had to run back to the stable. I hadn’t remembered seeing both babies nursing. I was worried about the little girl with the splint.

I needn’t have worried:

So there it is, Updates from the Nursery Ward at Gullringstorp and a bit more.

Leave a Reply

