My life in the country with my goats.com site

Updates From the Nursery Ward at Gullringstorp Part 4


I arrived home from London quite late last night and was just too beat to make it out to the stable. I went to bad feeling like a real bad “goat mamma”. I knew I would see Iris and her babies first thing in the morning. We had no sooner entered the stable when I was able to only get a glimpse of Iris and her two new babies, when things were not quite right in Poppy and Pansy’s box. Well, it was right , actually.

Poppy is a brand new mommy for the very first time!

She had been in labor for the early morning hours and by the time we entered the stable, she was in the last moments of her labor and delivery was just a few moments away. I looked and she was laying down and I knew immediately that our little girl, now an adult doe was about to have a baby. I was in her box in a flash and down on the straw and talking to her to sooth her and massaging her tummy and hips. She was glad to see me and oh was I so glad not to have missed her delivery. As I watched and listened, I saw her mother Frida. I saw her tilt of her head, and listened to her stoic soft moans. She is her mother when she delivers.

I had my iPhone in my pocket and tried to take some photos before the baby was born. Unfortunately, it was not so well , lit due to our overcast day. Leif was kind to run back to the house and get my camera. First photos are a bit dark:

Poppy's last moments of labor

Poppy’s last moments of labor

Poppy is pushing and there are tiny hooves out already

Poppy is pushing and there are tiny hooves out already

At this point, Poppy got up and labored to a new location and by the time Leif came back, we had a baby!

 

Brand new baby

Brand new baby
What a great mommy. Poppy is busy cleaning her new baby

What a great mommy. Poppy is busy cleaning her new baby

Poppy's sister Pansy is a bit unsure with this new little noisy creature arrived

Poppy’s sister Pansy is a bit unsure with this new little noisy creature arrived

We will have a clean dry baby, real soon

We will have a clean dry baby, real soon

..

..

Baby is stil in a part of the sac as the search for milk begins

Baby is stil in a part of the sac as the search for milk begins

New baby stands on those tiny legs within  5 minutes of birth

New baby stands on those tiny legs within 5 minutes of birth

We had a scary moment when Pansy head butted the new baby. Well that was all we needed to see to realize we needed a fence. Luckily we have lots of items in our workshop and on the property. I decided the box should be split in half and Leif found just the right size piece.

After Pansy had her time on the milk stand,  the new fence was placed in the box. I feel quite comfortable with it.

After Pansy had her time on the milk stand, the new fence was placed in the box. I feel quite comfortable with it.

New baby stands quite firmly  on those tiny legs

New baby stands quite firmly on those tiny legs

Look at our new cute baby !

Look at our new cute baby !

Poppy got her warm molasses water, grain and she cleaned up her after birth as every mother does

Poppy got her warm molasses water, grain and she cleaned up her after birth as every mother does

Baby rests after a busy morning getting born

Baby rests after a busy morning getting born

Everyone in the surrounding boxes were really affected by the new baby sounds. Hilda and Peanut were listening as well as Pumpkin. We had a curious doe who was also in heat :

Rose in heat but still curious  about the happenings in the next box

Rose in heat but still curious about the happenings in the next box. She is looking more and more like her mother Pumpkin

As things were settled in Pansy and Poppy’s box, I turned my attentions on Iris, her babies and her box.

We had placed a temporary fence up for Iris to feel safe and secure, but it was now time for a better fence and one that gave her and her twins a larger area to move around in. So back to the drawing board… what did we have available that would work to keep Iris in and the others from getting to her new babies. We needed length as well as height to make my vision work. We ended up with two fences pieces that work together, quite well. The babies are so happy to have the space to run, jump and spring as they need to.

There we have two fences pieces that work well together. The one on the far right acts as our door

There we have two fences pieces that work well together. The one on the far right acts as our door

Iris' new enclosure

Iris’ new enclosure

 

Iris and her babies

Iris and her babies

A little doeling on the left and a little buckling on the left

A little doeling on the left and a little buckling on the left

What cuties we have!

What cuties we have!

Our new little buckling

Our new little buckling

He looks like Iris!

He looks like Iris!

IMG_0171

Iris' room mates, Petunia, Ivy and Surprise were out on the other side of the stable having fun with Nanna while we fenced off the box. We laso made some adjustments to their hay supply

Iris’ roommates, Petunia, Ivy and Surprise were away, on the other side of the stable having fun with Nanna while we fenced off the box. We also made some adjustments to their hay supply

It was a busy morning here in the Nursery at Gullringstorp. It was not a day for the goats to be out so everyone was made happy and comfy, inside.

Rain was certainly on its way

Rain was certainly on its way

 

We have learned that Poppy’s new baby is a boy. I can not say how disappointed I am. He is beautiful and I will give all the love he needs , but he will not stay at Gullringstorp. We have 7 buck now and that is way over the normal limit in any goat farm. I just couldn’t part with them. Phillip and Winston are my last baby boys I was allowed to keep. My promise to my husband and myself was that I would bite the bullet and sell any bucklings that come. So now, so far, we have 2 bucklings to 1 doeling. Of course I was hoping for more doelings but I can not control nature. We have 3 more does to deliver , please keep your fingers crossed for ALL doelings!

In spite of the bucklings being born, both mothers and all 3 babies are doing beautifully.

Leave a Reply

