My life in the country with my goats.com site

Happy Easter Sunday and a Beautiful Spring Day !


We hope everyone is having a lovely Easter ! We actually have a beautiful Spring day here at Gullringstorp!!  No wind, rain or snow!! A great day for the goats to come out. The boys can even come out today.

The boys were so relaxed when I entered the stable this morning

The boys were so relaxed when I entered the stable this morning

Sleepy boys

Sleepy boys

We have 7 little bucks but this morning we decided to place a leash on only two and hope the others would follow

We have 7 little bucks but this morning we decided to place a leash on only two and hope the others would follow. Poor little Toby was the only one who fell far behind the others. He seemed to be a bit afraid. He will be back on a leash until he gets used to going out once again.

Once I helped Toby to catch up, they all followed and walked into the enclosure like little gentlemen

Once I helped Toby to catch up, they all followed and walked into the enclosure like little gentlemen

The boys must pass through the girl's enclosure to get to their enclosure

The boys must pass through the girl’s enclosure to get to their enclosure

A quick head count and all the boys are in

A quick head count and all the boys are where they should be

It's fun to try and take the leash off when they are so happy to be outside

The boys always head straight for the hay

,,

It’s’  not always so easy to take the collars and leashes off when the boys are so happy to be in the enclosure

Here are my youngest boys; Pip, Winston, Toby and Phillip

Here are my youngest boys; Pip, Winston, Toby (hidden, but I see his feet) and Phillip. Oh my how my baby bucklings have grown. Phillip is almost as big as his big brother Little Man

I am so happy that both the girls and the boys have a wonderful deep shelter where they can go if they are not happy with the weather

I am so happy that both the girls and the boys have a wonderful deep shelter where they can go if they are not happy with the weather

 

 

After Milk Stand training, the ladies were out in the enclosure:

Poppy and Peanut share a tender moment.

 Peanut and Pansy share a tender moment.

Our ladies were happy being outside again. Pumpkin enjoys a lay down in the sun while the little Pygmy girls play in the bench in the distance

Our ladies were happy being outside again. Pumpkin enjoys a relaxing nap in the sun while the little Pygmy girls play in the bench in the distance

Wishing everyone a lovely and Happy Easter Sunday!

 

4 responses

  1. Hej from Germany! 🙂 Still snowing in Bonn…
    Happy Easter to you too! Enjoy the rest of your Sunday.
    Love Dina

    March 31, 2013 at 15:53

    • Hej from Sweden! So sorry you still have snow on this Easter Sunday. I hope it’s beautiful at least. Happy Easter!!! Gullringstorpgoatgal

      Sent from my iPhone

      March 31, 2013 at 16:57

  2. Hi it was a beautiful warm Easter weekend here. I was able to coax our goats out of the barn for the first time this spring they hate the cold and prefer to stay in the inside enclosure. It was great to sit and watch them butt heads and play in the sun. Our little girl has put on a lot of winter weight and I am wondering if she might be pregnant. Our boys have been castrated but for some reason there seems to be a blood supply to the testicles normally a castrated goats testicles would shrivel up after the cord has been crushed. The vet is not sure whether they could breed or not. They have been in together for three years and no babies so far but she seems larger this year. We have to re do there pen this spring so hopefully they will have more room to run off that winter weight. Our pen was originally made to house pygmy goats and the goats we have our milk and meat goats so they are quite a bit bigger than yours. The largest Alpine is nearly as large as my great dane. Have a great holiday!

    April 3, 2013 at 23:58

    • Hej Godspoetbychoice !
      Oh so glad to hear your goats are particular about the weather. I thought it was just me spoiling my goats. They don’t care for wind and boy do we have wind. They hate rain and are not so keen on snow. I want them cozy during the winter months . I really think it’s individual goat taste . I know a Pygmy goat breeder who says her goats go out no mater what the weather. No my gang. One time during winter, on a not so bad day, I felt ok they need fresh air. Do I had my husband put up the fencing for the back baby play yard so the ladies could step out the back stable door and get some fresh air. My husband laughed at me when they wouldn’t step hoof out into the snow. I was determined and placed a bucket of hay out; they went out one by one for a bite then right back in for indoor activities.
      Now about your chubby lady, she may just have a real thick winter coat or where there is a will there is a way and she may be pregnant. What is her heat cycle like? Wouldn’t you be happy if she were pregnant? I would be happy for you if she were. Keep me posted please.

      April 4, 2013 at 00:26

Leave a Reply

