My life in the country with my goats.com site

Time for Milk Stand Training at Gullringstorp


After being sick for so long, many of my daily chores here at Gullringstorp have been passed on to my husband. I have been taking care of all the animals in the house and small tasks. I am happy to know that the goats have been so well taken care of by my husband, in my absence.

Last night I struggled with the fact that my pregnant ladies should have already started their Milk Stand training. I could not decide if I should start this morning or wait till Monday . Well I decided that this would be the morning I would start.

We bred 5 does but I have a big question mark over one young lady, Peanut. shortly after she was bred, I did witness what I thought was a heat.   We just need to keep an eye on her. I think I may start her on the stand as well.

My first doe was Pumpkin. She was not so happy , but I expected that. She is a strong goat and it took both of us to get her up on the stand.

Pumpkin, finally on the Milk Stand, and not very happy. She is shedding her winer wool; not so sure that's a good idea because we are still quite cold here at Gullringstorp

Pumpkin, finally on the Milk Stand. She was not so happy and  had a few words for me. She is shedding her winter wool; not so sure that’s a good idea because we are still quite cold here at Gullringstorp

Pumpkin looked aroud while on the stand. She had her daughter Rose to keep her company, along with me of course

Pumpkin looked around while on the stand. She had her daughter Rose , who is also loosing her winter wool, to keep her company

Pumpkin is a lot calmer even though she is looking around

Pumpkin is a lot calmer even though she is looking around

My next twi does are Pansy and Poppy. These are Frieda’s last babies born here at Gullringstorp. Their mother Frida passed away  just about a year ago. I still miss her terribly but thankfully, I have 4 of her children and one granddaughter. I see her in all of them.

Pansy got on the stand with very little effore. Her Sister Poppy who is always with her , joined her at the grain tray

Pansy got on the stand with very little effort. Her Sister Poppy who is always with her , joined her at the grain tray

Pansy's sister Poppy is finding the grain

Pansy’s sister Poppy having fun on the grain tray

IWe are able to see Poppy's tiny baby bump. She will either have a single kid or 2 tiny ones

We are able to see Poppy’s tiny baby bump. Looks like she will either have a single kid or 2 tiny ones

 Pansy found the grain

Pansy and Poppy are always talking to each other. I think they learned that from their mother, Frida who always talked to them

Not so easy to see Pansy's little baby bump, but it's there

Not so easy to see Pansy’s little baby bump, but it’s there

Pansy and Poppy are  always together

Pansy and Poppy are sisters and are never seperated

Yummy grain !

Yummy grain !

Poppy's turn on the Milk Stand

Poppy’s turn on the Milk Stand

Pansy walked away for a minute and Poppy was not so happy

Pansy walked away for a minute and Poppy was not so happy

Pansy returned and joined her sister on the stand

Pansy returned and joined her sister on the stand

Here is the last doe of the morning, Iris. She gave us the most trouble. She was not having it! She refused to walk up the ramp and when she did move up, it was inch by inch. Iris is a Pygmy goat and is quite a bit smaller than my Nigerians Dwarf goats.

Iris was not happy with this , at all!

Iris was not happy with this , at all!

Once Iris made it up onto the Milk Stand, she was more comfortable like this.

Once Iris made it up onto the Milk Stand, she was more comfortable like this.

Iris may look uncomfortable, believe me she is not. She is just fine.

Iris may look uncomfortable, believe me she is not. She is just fine.

It didn't take Iris long to find and tuck into the grain .

It didn’t take Iris long to find and tuck into the grain .

Unfortunately, this is the best way to show off Iris' baby bump

Unfortunately, this is the best way to show off Iris’ baby bump. Nanna was allowed out to keep Iris company. I think it helped.

Baby bump!

Baby bump!

Overall, the first experience for my does was pretty good. They will soon come to learn that  the Milk Stand will be the only place to get their breakfast and dinner. The process works. I have several does who have been through the Milk Stand training and are very comfortable on the stand. It takes time and patience and lots of love. You can never just yank and pull a doe up on a stand. You must take as long as she needs to walk that ramp and then to actually place her head in to be locked in. It takes time. This is nothing to be rushed.

My does will not be milked for some time, but when the time is right, they will be ready. As with my other does, these new mothers-to-be will have their babies with them when they are on the Milk Stand. This way they will help with any possible separation issues that may come up. It’s always fun for the babies to run and play and get used to the ramp and stand.

Oh I love being back with my goats. I have missed them terribly. It’s like being away from your young children. So much happens and you miss so much. I know they are my goats and not my children, but in a sense they are and I am the goat mommy. This has to be the relationship when you own goats. they need all that you can give them, not just hay, straw, grain and water. They need and require your love and attention, individually.

2 responses

  1. shianwrites

    I’m so sorry to hear that you were sick. They all look so healthy.

    March 23, 2013 at 18:23

    • Thanks Shianwrites!
      What I don’t like is how long it takes to get my strength back. Thankfully my goats are all well and healthy.

      March 23, 2013 at 18:27

Leave a Reply

