My life in the country with my goats.com site

Tender Moments at Gullringstorp


Fiona, who is Keriana’s daughter is raised by both her mother and aunt Alika. Keriana and Alika have a love hate relationship. They fight when the fence is down, but if I think of separating them and moving one to another box, they have a real fit. So that’s out of the question. They are living peacefully with the fence up between them as they share a big box.

Fiona makes it very clear that she loves Alika as much as she loves her mommy:

photo 1

 

 

photo 4

 

photo 5

 

photo 6

 

photo 7

 

photo 8

 

photo 9

 

9 responses

  1. I nominated you for the illuminating blogger award… you can see it at http://seasonsgirl.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/illuminating-blogger-award/.

    February 26, 2013 at 02:46

  2. Hannele Hansson

    Dear Karyn 🙂 Tusen tack för senast! Det var underbart att se Er Getfamilj, få höra och uppleva så mycket omtanke och kärlek för djur, naturen och entusiasmen för Ert arbete. Så fort jag hade kommit hem kokade jag två ägg, som jag fick. De var deligata! Tack för dem!

    Vilka fina bilder Ni har på Er plogg! Att arbeta med den är ett hjältedåd för sig. Jag hoppas att vi träffas snart igen:) Att se Ert arbete och livsstil ger mig så mycket glädje. Jag önskar Er soliga, varma vår vinter dagar och många friska Getbäbisar.

    Förresten! Tvålen känns gätte skön, doftar så gått att vill tvätta mig oftare än läkaren ordinerar. Kramisar från Hannele Och Casper

    February 27, 2013 at 09:27

    • Hej Hannele!
      What a lovey comment you have left me. We saw my daughter off at the airport and when I returned home I was sick. I have a terrible cold that started with coughing. Now comes the sneezing and those fun body aches.
      Please allow me to only say thank you for now. I will write back in length when I am a bit better. Please understand. I will come back to you. I will say now that it was an absolute pleasure having you here at Gullringstorp!
      Hej då och vi ses!!

      February 28, 2013 at 13:19

  3. Hi great pics, sorry I have not responded things have not been going so well here. We are having a hay shortage in my neck of the words but praise the Lord we were able to find some round bails to put out for the horses so we can save our squares for the goats inside. I am sorry to here you are under the weather I hope you get better soon

    March 5, 2013 at 02:08

    • Hej Godspoetbychoice,
      This is not a good place to be, when you need hay for your animals. Sorry to hear this. Our issue here is getting hay that hasn’t been stored up in our neighbor’s barn that is dusty. I hate pulling apart a flake of hay and all of a sudden be lost in a fog of dust. My husband had weather stripped our 2 back doors in the stable. The center door is the one we use to push in the huge hay bale. That is our absolute best hay but all the weather stripping would need to be taken off. We can’t get that hay till spring comes.
      I am feeling better than I have in this past week. I thought it was a cold but it quickly became evident that it was more.
      I miss my goats but my husband is doing all goat duty. The best parts of my days are spent with my goats. When I travel, it’s not fun to be away from them but I am always busy when I travel. This is different , to be in this bed knowing my goats are so near yet I couldn’t go there. I know I will be with them real soon.
      So good to hear from you! And thank goodness for my iPhone, since my computer is in my office downstairs .

      March 5, 2013 at 12:03

      • Hi I know what you mean about dusty hay. We used to think the hay was dusty untill one of our horses developed breathing issues and we had the vet up and he said let me look at your hay and he informed us what we think of as dust is actually mold. we being from the city had no way of know that.. Once he informed us we had to hunt hi and low to find hay that had been cut when perfectly dry and baled when it completely dried.. With the hay shortage it is even harder to find. Round Bales here are usually $30.00 per bale are now $50.00 to $100.00 per bale. It was a huge increase that know one was ready for. But we found some reasonably priced round bales for this month and we are hoping for an early spring.Anyway I hope you get better soon and I will keep you in my prayers

        March 6, 2013 at 20:58

  4. Wow, they’re so cute! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!
    Greetings from Norfolk
    Dina

    March 18, 2013 at 14:12

    • Hej Dina!
      Thanks. They are all such wonderful photo subjects. I don’t always have my Canon camera with me in the stable, but now I do have my iPhone in my stable pants pocket. I carry it for the music selections for my goats. I always stay attentive to my little herd and thankfully can snap photos when I see moments like these. There’s always something that catches my attention or just touches my heart. Goats are amazing creatures. I love each and every one of my goats.

      March 18, 2013 at 14:21

Leave a Reply

