My life in the country with my goats.com site

Pumpkin is Bred with Little Man


Pumpkin was bred with our Little Man who was born right here at Gullringstorp. She was bred Dec. 1, 2012 and will deliver in the first week of April. She is not a first time fresher, she has had 2 little ones over a year ago . She had been bred with our Rent-A-Buck Emil and had a buckling and a doeling. Unfortunately, her son, Little Miracle left us way too soon due to a bad heart. It was an awful time here at Gullringstorp. We were so sad and never thought we would get over it. Pumpkin was upset and sad. She couldn’t stop looking for Miracle and then became over protective of her daughter Rose. Poor Rose was all alone now without her brother. We had several other new mothers in the stable at the same time and each one had twins,  so each had the other to snuggle up with. Rosie didn’t really have mommy because her mommy  was just too preoccupied with trying to find Miracle in their stall and in the stable. That was when I decide to give  Rosie a stuffed animal to snuggle up with at night when Pumpkin paced the stall.

We can only hope with all our hearts that this time around will be a much better experience for Pumpkin. She had been so changed by this experience. Now she has calmed down considerably and is just now getting back to her old self. I want her to have a happy experience, all around.

,,

Pumpkin and Little Man meet each other

,,

Pumpkin like all my ladies, she plays hard to get in the beginning

,,

Pumpkin does not make it easy for Little Man. He has to chase her a bit  first.

,,

First try

,,

Second try

,,

Third time was a charm, as always

Please send your good thoughts and wishes to Pumpkin.

 

5 responses

  1. Ahhhhhh love is in the air how exciting I will be praying that things go well with pumpkin

    February 21, 2013 at 04:27

    • Hej from Sweden!
      Oh that’s so nice of you, godspoetbychoice. Thank you so much for that. I will soon be starting our Maternity watch posts. They will be a bit different from those of the past because our goats are inside, too much snow in the enclosure. Also my new moms to be will be starting thier milk stand training next week. Oh what fun lies ahead. Welcome back for updated on Pumpkin and my other three moms to be .

      February 21, 2013 at 08:40

      • you can count on it I just wish we were neighbours so I could meet your furry family in person it would be so much fun!

        February 22, 2013 at 00:30

      • Hej from Sweden !
        Sorry to be just getting back to you ; I have read all your beautiful comments but no time to respond. My daughter has come for a visit and it’s go go go all the time. I have a moment to get back to my comments and so I grabbed it!
        I also wish the same. It would be so much fun to talk with you in person and of course share my little herd with you.

        February 26, 2013 at 12:22

  2. I have a funny story for you when we adopted out first goats, maggie the mom came with two twin boys Issac and tiny. When we went to pick the trio up I was told that maggie might be pregnant because they had turned her out with a buck. So I never had a pregnant goat before so we counted down the days and when it got close we put a baby monitor in her pen and hooked the other one up in my bedroom so I could hear her if she came into labor and I wouldn’t miss anything. Well it didn’t take long before Maggie was calling out and I would rush down to see if she was alright. I would go down and rub her back and she would stretch out and let me give her a message than she would settle down and I would drag myself back to bed. The next night the same racket would happen and she would scream into the box and I would rocket down to the barn and ito the pen and she would great me enthusiastically that she would lay down and I would rub her back and she would be in heaven and than she would drift off to sleep and I would dnce again drag myself back to the house. This went on for weeks with me thinking she was about to go into labour and I would run down and give her a message. Little did I know is the people who gave us the goats never told us that when they get ready to go into labour there milk comes in and their udders become huge. Being a city girl turned country I had no idea. To make a long story short maggie was never pregnant and she was smart enought to figure out if she called into the box I would come down in the middle of the night and give her a rub. Who knew the goat was smarter than me. Thats my Maggie and I miss her dearly.

    February 21, 2013 at 20:01

Leave a Reply

