My life in the country with my goats.com site

Something Else That Makes This Country Gal Smile, And Smile Big !!!!


In the beginning , even before we started milking our goats, I made the decision to get a hand milker. It was a product that would help older hands and would solve the problem of tiny teats of our littlest goats. No one told me that your hands would survive the pumping, but your arm would soon just drop off! My husband and I have what feels like arthritis symptoms in our hands, so hand milking these ladies was not really an option. We decided it was time to make a change and make the investment in a real milking machine. We made a long drive further down south to visit the couple selling the new milking machine. It was a lovely drive with spectacular woods covered in beautiful snow (snö in Swedish)

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

photo 6

I really had fun taking those photos with my iPhone, from the comfort and warmth of my passenger seat in my little car.

When we arrived we met the goats and the new prized cow. Man of the house did not like goat cheese , so no more milking the goats, great for us! A cow was purchased for her milk instead. I apologize for the quality of the photos taken in a very dark barn area with my iPhone and not my camera.

They had an old Swedish breed, Väneko. This cow known as Väneko is a rare breed brought back from the brink of extinction. This breed named after a village (Väne-Ryr) in the province Västergötland. They are found in the region near one of the largest lakes in the South West, Lake Väne. Väne cattle are remnant of the old South Swedish peasant breed and often also called Allmogeko. The breed was discovered in beginning of the 1990s.

Isn't she pretty?

Isn’t she pretty?

Look at those horns. She's really a small cow in compared to other breeds

Look at those horns. She’s really a small cow in compared to other breeds

She is really pretty with her markings, kind of like an appaloosa pony

She is really pretty with her markings, kind of like an Appaloosa pony

Ok yes it’s true I love,  love, love  animals , hence all the cow photos, but here  is my real true love:

Now this is the real beauty!! Isn't my new Schlauerbauer Milking Machine fro, Germany something?

Now this is the real beauty!! Isn’t my new Schlauerbauer Milking Machine from, Germany something?

I just can’t stop smiling….

Leave a Reply

