My life in the country with my goats.com site

A City Girl Turned Country Gal Visits the City ! Part I


I took a quick trip to New York to spend time with my daughter for her birthday.  It was, as always, a tug of war with my emotions. I looked so much forward to being in the Big Apple while at the same time not wanting to leave my farm with all the day-to-day happenings. I left my husband to take care of all including the milking of our ladies and tending to the needs of the babies. I knew he would take care of everyone, but I still worried about the babies.

Just before I was due to fly , Hilda decided to stop feeding her boys Winston and Phillip. I scoured all my books to find a solution and contacting my great sources on  the goat forum. I received lots of really good suggestions. The problem was. when a mother goat refuses to feed her babies, she rejects them completely. This was the confusing part with Hilda. She knew her boys, called them and cleaned them and continued her conversations with them. We needed to consider the fact that she might have an issue with her udder. We placed her on the milk stand and allowed the boys to drink. Thankfully there was no problem with her udder. We massaged and examined her udder only to see that they were in good condition. We decided that maybe the boys had bitten her  and she was shy now. After some time, she allowed Winston and Phillip to resume nursing. Knowing this, really made my trip to NY easier.

New York has so much to offer to both the residents and visitors alike. I have tried to capture the essence of New York from the Metropolitan Museum to Central Park to the many dogs one sees  on the sidewalks of every neighborhood you visit.

Take a walk with me through New York :

       A view across the water in Central Park

A view across the water in Central Park

Active people in Central Park

Active people in Central Park

Transportation available in Central Park

Transportation available in Central Park

Take a horse dawn ride through Central Park

Take a horse dawn ride through Central Park

A view across a area called the Sheep's Meadow

A view across an area of the park known as, the Sheep’s Meadow

Volleyball in Central Park

Volleyball in Central Park

A wonderful violinist played Vivaldi in Central Park

A wonderful violinist played Vivaldi in Central Park

 

We went to the Metropolitan Museum of Art twice. We went to see all our favorites the first time. The second time we wanted to see the Armor display and Whistler paintings. This is when I took photos.

Diana the Huntress

Diana the Huntress

Hiawatha

Hiawatha

The last moments of John Brown

The Last Moments of John Brown by Thomas Hovenden

..

The Wyndham Sisters by John Singer Sargent

The Wyndham Sisters by John Singer Sargent

Madame X by John Singer Sargent

Madame X by John Singer Sargent

Welcome back to Part II of New York City…

2 responses

  1. Awww, you were in my city. Glad you had fun and got a chance to spend time with your daughter.

    October 2, 2012 at 20:08

    • Hej Shianwrite !
      We had a lot of business to tend to but we sure had a fun time when were were not so busy! What a city ! We love New York and all it offers to everyone.Thanks Shianwrites. Don’t forget to check back for part II, I just had so many photos to share.

      October 2, 2012 at 22:23

Leave a Reply

