My life in the country with my goats.com site

Goodbye My Beloved Frida


Today July 12, 2012 at 1715 our Frida passed away. Frida had been in a slow recovery of a bout with pneumonia. We had a great vet who put her on 2 rounds of antibiotics, one regular and one broad spectrum antibiotic.

Frida was determined to stay with her daughters. She put up a real fight to survive and stay with us.

This was not a good week for her, however and her body had weakened too much. I had made my mind that we needed to make an appointment with the vet and let Frida go. I had just left and walked back to the house and was on the phone to the vet when my husband came in to say she passed.

She is now buried here at Gullringstorp.

Good-bye my beloved Frida …

Rest in peace my Frida…

 

Frida taking a rest

Frida taking a rest

Frida and one of her little ones having a chat

Frida and one of her little ones having a chat

Happy goat family; Frida, babies and Julius the dad

Happy goat family; Frida, babies and Julius the dad

Frida, who has given birth once before at Gullringstorp

Frida, who has given birth twice at Gullringstorp

Frida is probably calling Poppy back. there is constant chatter between the mothers and babies

Frida is probably calling Poppy back. there is constant chatter between the mothers and babies

Frida gave us 4 beautiful babies in her time with us:

Keriana, Flynn, Poppy, Pansy

Keriana has just given us Fiona

Frida will always be a part of Gullringstorp Goats…

8 responses

  1. So sorry. Our animals are part of our family and when we lose one they take a part of our heart with them. I could not push the like button this time. 😦

    July 12, 2012 at 20:33

    • Hej wildinthepryors !
      You are so right. My heart just broke looking into her eyes today. I knew. She seemed to tell me it was now her time. She chose her time. I am really glad in the end that she made that choice. Her daughters, Poppy and Pansy will be 1 yr old next month and are getting really big but they were also “mamma’s babies”. She was the most devoted mother I have ever seen. I thought I was through crying… I guess not…

      July 12, 2012 at 22:51

  2. sorry for your loss. Our neighbors down the street had 2 pet goats. One passed away last year, and to keep the other one happy, 2 new kids were added to the family. Keeps old Otto on his toes.

    July 12, 2012 at 20:41

    • Hej Shella365 !
      Thanks so much for your kind thoughts. It’s a lot harder that I could have imagined.I just returned from my birthday dinner and spent some time in the stable doing damage control. Many of my goats are in a slight state of shock. Frida’s two daughters were crying much louder earlier and now it’s only soft whimpers, which make me want to just cry.The others are just unnaturally quiet. it will take some time for all of us to get pass this loss. Frida was our her matriarch.I will always miss her and remember her.

      July 12, 2012 at 22:47

  3. So very sorry for her passing and your loss.

    July 12, 2012 at 22:04

    • Hej m5son!
      Thank you. It’s so much harder than I could have imagined. Gullringstorp and I will not ever be the same without her.

      July 12, 2012 at 22:53

      • Call me Mike and you are welcome. Time will help the pain.

        July 12, 2012 at 22:54

      • Hej Mike !
        Thank you! I am counting on that. Time can be a friend.

        July 12, 2012 at 22:57

Leave a Reply

