My life in the country with my goats.com site

Updates from the Maternity Ward at Gullringstorp


So sorry for not posting for some time. Believe me it’s not for lack of events around Gullringstorp. I have been traveling to visit my daughter in London.

Before I left for London,  I  launched my new business!

I am back now and after settling back into the rhythm here at Gullringstorp. and ready to post!

Two days before I left for London, Alika gave birth for the first time!

On June 5th 2012 Little Pip was born!

 

Alika made herself comfortable and relaxed the entire day June 4th

Alika made herself comfortable and relaxed the entire day June 4th

Keriana and her daughter Fiona remained on their side of the enclosure

Keriana and her daughter Fiona remained on their side of the enclosure

Pumpkin and her daughter Rosie who will be a year old in August relax in their box

Pumpkin and her daughter Rosie who will be a year old in August relax in their box

Frida who is still recovering from her bout with pneumonia, relaxes with her daughter Poppy and Pansy also a year old in August

Frida who is still recovering from her bout with pneumonia, relaxes with her daughter Poppy and Pansy also a year old in August

Hilda relaxes with her yearling Peanut

Hilda relaxes with her yearling Peanut

Even our 3 Musketeers are relaxing, oh except noisy Iris standing guard

Even our 3 Musketeers are relaxing, oh except noisy Iris standing guard

Even our boys are relaxing on this cold, windy and rainy day

Even our boys are relaxing on this cold, windy and rainy day

June 5th Labor and Delivery:

As labor started for Alika, Keriana and a warn and cozy Fiona look on

As labor started for Alika, Keriana and a warm and cozy Fiona look on

Although labor starts slow, Alika is visibly affected

Although labor starts slow, Alika is visibly affected

Alika has early labor discharge

Alika has early labor discharge

By mid morning, Alika was in full blown labor and we will soon have new babies in the stable

By mid morning, Alika was in full blown labor and we will soon have new babies in the stable

Alika seems to be ready to push

Alika seems to be ready to push

I have assisted in many births here at Gullringstorp, yet it never gets old. As a woman, a mother and as a past birthing instructor, I was breathing for Alika. I was trying to help ease her labor the best I could. This was Alika’s first labor and birth. Nature takes over and she knew exactly what to do. there were no books or classes for her just natural instinct to carry her through this difficult potentially dangerous journey.

When she screamed, I felt her pain.

When she rested between contractions, I exhaled and relaxed for the time between.

When they returned, I felt them as Alika was feeling them.

I stayed at a close distance but my Alika knew I was there and I could tell she appreciated my attendance. Sometimes she would come to me and lay her head in my lap so I could rub her back and hind quarters.

I am goat doula.

Alika's face has never been more beautiful to me, as she rest between contractions

Alika’s face has never been more beautiful to me, as she rest between contractions

This was a particularly strong contraction... baby is on the way

This was a particularly strong contraction… baby is on the way

I felt her pain in every fiber of my body as my Alika stretched to relieve the pain of that contraction

I felt her pain in every fiber of my body as my Alika stretched to relieve the pain of that contraction

 Alika's box mate and pal Keriana tries to comfort her pal

Alika’s box mate and pal Keriana tries to comfort her pal                                                                                                                                                          

Labor has now made the transition to delivery...

Labor has now made the transition to delivery…
A tiny bit of Alika's new baby  makes an appearance within the mucous

A tiny bit of Alika’s new baby makes an appearance within the mucous

As a trained Lamaze Birthing Coach, I try to breath for Alika to help along through this as she pushes

As a trained Lamaze Birthing Coach, I try to breath for Alika to help along through this as she pushes

Alika cries out in obvious pain as her new baby makes its way into the world

Alika cries out in obvious pain as her new baby makes its way into the world

The struggle for delivery of this new baby continues

The struggle for delivery of this new baby continues

Our baby or babies are on the way!

Our baby or babies are on the way!

We can see a tiny head and a even tinier tongue

We can see a tiny head and a even tinier tongue

Push Alika !

PUSH Alika !

Ok Alika, P-U-S-H  !!!!!!!!

Ok Alika, P-U-S-H !!!!!!!!

At 1345 June 5, 2012 a new baby was welcomed at Gullringstorp!

At 1345 June 5, 2012 a new baby was welcomed at Gullringstorp!

Alika is a very stocky goat and was quite large and broad across her back during pregnancy. She was so large, you could set a table for two on her back. Because of this we really had no idea how many babies she would have. We waited as she cleaned this new baby for signs of a second delivery. There was no second delivery. Alika gave birth to just one baby on this day.

Alika meets her new baby for the first time...

Alika meets her new baby for the first time…

On this June afternoon, we were experiencing winter conditions so little Fiona had her warm coat on even in the stable as she looked at the new baby just born

On this June afternoon, we were experiencing winter conditions so little Fiona had her warm coat on even in the stable as she looked at the new baby just born

It was so cold I was really afraid fro the new baby who was wet. But I needn’t worry, Alika cleaned her baby up in record time.

No time to relax after a long and strenuous labor and delivery. Alika's toung starts flicking as if  totally by instinct and cleans her new baby of all the birthing liquids till the baby is completely dry.

No time to relax after a long and strenuous labor and delivery. Alika’s tongue starts flicking as if totally by instinct and cleans her new baby of all the birthing liquids till the baby is completely dry.

Within minutes of birth, this tiny baby is on a tour of the box, with Alika close behind

Within minutes of birth, this tiny baby is on a tour of the box, with Alika close behind

  Little Man is our "tender heart". He just loves to watch our new babies come into the world and closely watches their first steps

Little Man is our “tender heart”. He just loves to watch our new babies come into the world and closely watches their first steps

This little one didn't need a GPS to find the liquid gold, mommy's milk!

This little one didn’t need a GPS to find the liquid gold, mommy’s milk!

Alika is a wonderful mother !

Alika is a wonderful mother !

We were very lucky to have had another safe and uneventful labor and delivery here at Gullringstorp!

Both mother and baby are just fine!

I give a silent thank you when I see them …

Leave a Reply

