My life in the country with my goats.com site

WHERE IS MY SPRING? DID I BLINK AND MISS OUR 1 DAY OF SWEDISH SPRING?


It’s true, if you blink it’s all over and you have missed it. Our Swedish Spring last just about one day. Or if we are lucky we can add up the hours of sunshine from several different days, put them all together and we have 24 hours of Spring.

I was so happy to see these tulips start to come up!

I was so happy to see these tulips start to come up!

I gave my tulips a pep talk , "come on you can do it "!

I gave my tulips a pep talk , "come on you can do it "!

Come on little tulips!

Come on little tulips!

Then,  just as my little tulips tried to bloom and find the sunshine of Spring….

Look what happened to my poor little tulips! They got snowed on!

Look what happened to my poor little tulips! They got snowed on!

Just look at my brave little tulips!

Just look at my brave little tulips!

Our poor pansy pots my husband planted just days ago

Our poor pansy pots my husband planted just days ago

It got cold enough for our little Max to need his winter jacket, again !

It got cold enough for our little Max to need his winter jacket, again !

The hens and roosters were out

The hens and roosters were out

Our hens seemed to delight in the winter conditions. Their fluffy feathers blew, but it was alright with them, the snow blew, but it was alright with them. They even enjoyed pecking at the newly fallen snow

Our hens seemed to delight in the winter conditions. Their fluffy feathers blew, but it was alright with them, the snow blew, but it was alright with them. They even enjoyed pecking at the newly fallen snow

Well we will endure the freezing temperatures and before we know it , we will be searing under the Swedish summer sun!

4 responses

  1. You are not alone – Here in New England, we had a wonderful week of 70-80 degree days. We built new raised beds, shoveled loam, the grandkids played outside, and then it was all gone. We’ve had snow showers, rain, and cold damp weather. I guess we just impatiently wait until we get back out there. But, I’m tending my seedlings inside and enjoying that task. Have a good day.

    April 2, 2012 at 13:16

    • Hej Judy !
      Yes we just have to wait it out! We have even had between -5 and -9 during the evenings and the mornings are not much better. My goats still can’t come out. They don’t like the cold wind even though the have a huge 3 sided shelter in the enclosure. We sometimes leave both stable doors open for cool air to blow in. Our poor koi in the pond were uncovered after a winter under a protective tarp, were under ice this morning! We just have to continue with all of our indoor activities for a while longer. I wish a warm Spring whenever it decides to return. If not, I wish a warm and sunny summer!
      Welcome back to my blog. We should have new goat babies in May, if my ladies cooperate!

      April 2, 2012 at 13:40

  2. I am sorry the snow tried to keep your tulips away. I will send warm thoughts your way from the USA so maybe they will survive and bloom for you.

    April 3, 2012 at 04:51

  3. Hej Seasonsgirl,
    Thanks so much!

    April 3, 2012 at 11:47

Leave a Reply

