My life in the country with my goats.com site

Maternity Watch, Milk Stand Training and other Updates at Gullringstorp !!


My lovely mothers-to-be are doing really well. They are getting really nice baby-bumps and doing really well on the milking stand. I am so proud of all three of them. They have the idea now; Nanna is the first little lady out and she hops up on the Milk Stand so cute. My other two ladies are like race horses,really biting at the bit to get out of their box and to the grain. Nanna hops up and her head goes right into the correct place and starts eating right away. Alika and Keriana make their way on the Milk Stand but still have a bit of trepidation when it comes to putting their head in the correct  place.  I have no problem with taking hold of the collars and giving a little tug and there they are , in the correct place.

Milk Stand training started March 15th and my ladies are making wonderful progress!

Alika,, happy on the Milk Stand having her breakfast

Alika,, happy on the Milk Stand having her breakfast

Look at that baby-bump!

Look at that baby-bump!

Nanna has finished her grain and now enjoys her hay, Keriana watches Alika on the stand as she waits her turn

Nanna has finished her grain and now enjoys her hay, Keriana watches Alika on the stand as she waits her turn

Little Nanna with her hay which she really enjoys

Little Nanna with her hay which she really enjoys

It’s a bit difficult to see little Nanna’s baby-bump, but when she’s on the Milk Stand I can feel her tummy and it’s there!

Keriana think that Alika should be done by now!

Keriana think that Alika should be done by now!

Looks like Keriana is really getting impatient

Looks like Keriana is really getting impatient

Keriana is not happy waiting her turn!

Keriana is not happy waiting her turn!

Keriana finally makes her way up on to the Milk Stand, She certainly has her own style!

Keriana finally makes her way up on to the Milk Stand, She certainly has her own style!

Well at least the right end is up in the air, for future milking. t

Well at least the right end is up in the air, for future milking.

Well, as you can see, my ladies are doing quite well in their training. We will continue to train and when they deliver in May, they will all three hop up like little Nanna for their grain and milking. That’s the plan, anyway!

Let’s check in on the chickens:

We have been having a problem with our hens and their laying issues.

We have been having a problem with our hens and their laying issues.

My husband made 5 nesting boxes for our hens not realizing that some hens would be territorial about their boxes. The Brahma hens will not let the Orpington (Heny Penys) or the White Heads (Topsy Turvys ) into the boxes.

I was in the hen-house recently and heard a different sound coming from 2 of the little White Heads; not really knowing all there is to know about chickens, I guess it was just an instinct. It hit me immediately that these two  ladies wanted to lay an egg. Don’t ask how I knew, I couldn’t tell you. My husband dismissed me and later he found one of the tiny White Heads in the nesting box with a Brahma and getting her head pecked for being there. Later in the day, my husband found 2 beautiful tiny white eggs,  on the ground. Well that was that ! Those ladies needed their own nesting boxes ! My husband quickly got busy building 3 tiny nesting boxes below the larger boxes, just for our tiny White Heads. Thank you hubby!

These are the larger nesting boxes that the Brahmas have laid claim to

These are the larger nesting boxes that the Brahma hens have laid claim to

Here you can see 3 of our 4 Brahmas staking claim to the larger nesting boxes on top and the smaller boxes beneath

Here you can see 3 of our 4 Brahma hens staking claim to the larger nesting boxes on top and the tinier boxes beneath for the White Heads

Here's our 4th Brahma. Looks like she ready to settle in for a laying session

Here's our 4th Brahma hen. Looks like she ready to settle in for a laying session

Ahhh!!! She has settled down and gets to work laying a beautiful egg for us

She has settled down and gets to work laying a beautiful egg for us

One busy hen !

She looks like she's concentrating really hard !

Our Topsy Turvy s and Mr. Bojangles enjoy a scratch in the hay

Our Topsy Turvy s and Mr. Bojangles enjoy a scratch in the hay

Hens enjoying the day out scratching in the hay and straw

Hens & Mr. Bojangles enjoying the day out scratching in the hay and straw

Our new rooster is settling in just fine.

Our new rooster is settling in just fine. We are still welcoming names for our rooster!

We have gone from rain to sudden snow storms to sunshine in this past week. It really feels like Spring here at Gullringstorp ! With walks around the property and sometimes just standing still quietly, I can see many new signs that Spring is here.

All the Spring birds are out hunting for a new home. Look real close and you can see a Mr. & Mrs. deciding on this house. There are many to choose from here at Gullringstorp

All the Spring birds are out hunting for a new home. Look real close and you can see a Mr. & Mrs. thinking about this house. There are many houses to choose from here at Gullringstorp

These tiny white blooms are springing up all over Gullringstorp as well as all over Sweden

These tiny white blooms are springing up all over Gullringstorp as well as all over Sweden. Everyone in Sweden is so happy to see these tiny blooms appear. They really are a sign of Spring!

These tiny white blooms come in the hedges that have yet to bloom themselves

These tiny white blooms come in the hedges that have yet to bloom themselves

Let’s check in on the boys at Gullringstorp:

Little Man & Baby Boy have become real close pals

Little Man & Baby Boy have become real close pals

Look at my two handsome fellows!

Look at my two handsome fellows!

I keep finding Balder  & little Flynn like this. I'm beginning to think they are a "couple" !

I keep finding Balder & little Flynn like this. I'm beginning to think they are a "couple" !

Emil our Rent-A-Buck is still with us. Hilda has beed successfully bred. Now we are waiting for Pumpkin and Frida to go into heat

Emil our Rent-A-Buck is still with us. Hilda has been successfully bred. Now we are waiting for Pumpkin and Frida to go into heat

Emil, enjoying hay !

Emil, enjoying hay !

Emil and all of our goats will soon be spending their days out in the enclosure very soon. the weather is finally stabilizing and it’s soon time to let them out. They will all be so happy and so will I . I just love to watch them run, leap and play in the sun. Their enclosure is not green, yet. but they will need to be outside in the fresh air and sun.

All my mothers who delivered in August are doing well as are their babies. Rose, Pansy, Poppy, Peanut , Iris, Petunia and Ivy are all growing and are strong and healthy. I can’t wait to see them outside in the enclosure !

I hope all my readers are welcoming in Spring where you live ! Enjoy the sunshine !

Please continue to send in suggestions for names for our rooster !!

 

5 responses

  1. I have just found your blog… My husband and I love goats, my parent’s used to raise nubian goats, and my husband and I have 10 chickens. I look forward to follwing your blog.

    March 25, 2012 at 04:37

    • Hej Seasonsgirl !
      I am so glad you found my little blog! Nubians are lovely goats. I am sure your parents have fond memories of their goats. I am sorry that they no longer have them. But I know , life happens and sometimes we must move on. We don’t really have a huge variety of goats here in Sweden, in fact there really is nothing absolutely NOTHING here that caters to goats, feed, halters, grain etc! It’s a bit difficult, but thank goodness for the internet and international mail! I would love to see some photos of your chickens. I just love mine more and more every day! Maybe you might offer up a suggested name for our new rooster. We have a few but would like more.
      You are most welcome back, often !

      March 25, 2012 at 12:36

      • My parents especially father is sad they no longer have goats, but maybe my husband and I can someday. I will post some more photos of my chickens so you can drop by to see “the girls” as we call them. I think Red is a good rooster name, but I guess that all depends on his color. Our chicks are road island reds.

        March 25, 2012 at 16:22

      • Hej Seasonsgirl !

        I can understand completely the sadness your father feels at not having his goats any longer. They are enchanting creatures that work their way right into your hearts and they are there to stay. Maybe you could let you father have my blog address, he just might enjoy reading about my little herd and looking at the photos.
        Rhode island Reds are beautiful and I can really see a rooster of that breed named Red. Take a look at my blog and you can see our new gentleman. He is a Brahma and quite tall and handsome. I look forward to seeing more photos of your “girls”!

        March 25, 2012 at 21:53

      • I will do that thanks 🙂

        March 26, 2012 at 01:36

Leave a Reply

