My life in the country with my goats.com site

A Quiet Sunday Morning at Gullringstorp


Max and I made our  usual walk out to the stable this morning. It was a chilly March morning so we both had on our jackets. On the way to check in on  the chickens and then the goats, I looked around the property for subtle changes and any signs of Spring. You have to look really close,  but you can find them,   Max and I did.

Spring is on its way,  no matter what the temperature!

There it is, a sign that spring is indeed on its way; a baby tulip planted 2 years ago, coming back

There it was, a sign that spring is indeed on its way; a baby tulip planted 2 years ago, coming back

Even in the shadow of a large evergreen tree, a baby tulip has peeked out of the soil

Even in the shadow of a large evergreen tree, 3 baby tulips have peeked out of the soil

A brand new strawberry plant has bloomed.

A brand new strawberry plant has bloomed. We hope to have many strawberries again this year. The leaves will provide fresh greens for the goats in the early winter months

Our first stop was the chicken house. We have a new rooster!  He is a Brahma rooster and is quite tall and very colorful. We had a large Brahma rooster that we lost to a very large Sea Eagle. This is Sweden’ s largest bird of prey with wings spans up to 8′ across and weighing up to 17 lbs. This large bird got into our chicken yard and attached our very large rooster who stood just over 2′ tall. When my husband approached the chicken yard, he frightened this large bird off but the damage had already been done to our rooster. That was a sad day!

We took awhile before we got a new rooster and Mr. Bojangels has had to be the man for all our hens.

We have a problem though; our rooster needs a name !  Please send us some suggestions. We really need help !

Here is our new rooster!

Here is our new rooster!

What a handsome gentleman !

What a handsome gentleman !

After a few days of being picked on, our new rooster is now one of the gang!

After a few days of being picked on, our new rooster is now one of the gang!

Look at those beautiful feathers!

Look at those beautiful feathers!

This little lady was happy on her side of the enclosure

This little lady was happy on her side of the enclosure

Normally the ladies gather here to go inside , but this morning must have been a "hen meeting"

Normally the ladies gather here to go inside , but this morning must have been a "hen meeting"

Two hens pecking away !

Two hens pecking away !

Mr. Bojangels and his ladies, Topsy and Turvy

Mr. Bojangels and his ladies, Topsy and Turvy

These two friends are enjoying a bit of scratching in the dirt

These three friends are enjoying a bit of scratching in the dirt

We have 4 Topsy Turvy ladies and I wondered where the 4th one was. She was  in side in her nest and left us a beautiful delicate egg.

We have 4 Topsy Turvy ladies and I wondered where the 4th one was. She was in side in her nest and left us a beautiful delicate egg.

Mr. Bojangels strutting his stuff!

Mr. Bojangels strutting his stuff!

After Max and I enjoyed watching the hens and our two handsome roosters, it was time to go to the stable. Normally when I enter the stable the boys know I am there and start yelling for more hay. I entered through the back door, real quiet and saw my boys. I include Emil in “my boys”. They were so peaceful and had tons of hay left.

Here are the boys of Gullringstorp on a Sunday morning:

Emil to the left, Baby Boy in the back and Little Man to the right

Emil to the left, Baby Boy in the back and Little Man to the right

Balder and little Flynn, who are always resting together

Balder and little Flynn, who are always resting together

Baby Boy

Baby Boy

Little Man, Hilda's boy born this past August

Little Man, Hilda's boy born this past August

Emil our Rent-A-Buck enjoying Sunday morning in bed

Emil our Rent-A-Buck enjoying Sunday morning in bed

All the boys were really relaxed this morning. They all were so peaceful and quiet. I really liked seeing them like this.

Now to my Milk Stand training. Last evening all three ladies made it up on to the stand. Keriana was the most difficult, but I tried something I read and it worked. I have read so many different methods on how to get your stubborn lady on the stand. Some methods were just plain too cruel, like one woman said she uses a spiked collar on her goat that dig into her neck when she pulls on her. Others just sounded a bit mean for the goat. One mentioned a lead and just pull.

This morning Nanna was first on the stand. She bounced out of her box and up onto the Milk Stand. no problems at all with her.

Next was Keriana, my big girl. I was in the stable alone this morning so I knew if she was to get on that stand, it would have to be me that “assisted” her. I attached a rope lead on her collar and walked her around in a semi-circle so she faced the ramp.Once she was facing the ramp, I pulled. Two feet, then all four . Then I pulled the rope through the place for her head and just pulled and pulled with all my might. Once her head was in place I locked her in.

This was the most humane and most comfortable method  for both of us. I never want to hurt my goats no matter what I might want them to do. Smaller goats can easily be lifted up and placed on the stand,  but when you get a large lady like Keriana or Alika, lifting a goat of their size is no option.

After a lot of pulling, Keriana enjoys her grain breakfast

After a lot of pulling, Keriana enjoys her grain breakfast

keriana

Keriana takes a break to look for Alika

Alika was better than Keriana. She walked up on the Milk Stand her own, but was very careful and took some time to put her head in place. Once in place she enjoyed her breakfast.

Alika

Alika

Look at Alika's "baby bump" !

Look at Alika's "baby bump" !

Keriana and Alika may fight over the bowl of fruit and veggies but these two are inseparable. Keriana keeps a close eye on Alika while she is on the Milk Stand

Keriana and Alika may fight over the bowl of fruit and veggies but these two are inseparable. Keriana keeps a close eye on Alika while she is on the Milk Stand

Keriana wants to make sure that Alika is alright

Keriana wants to make sure that Alika is alright

It was a lovely Sunday morning at Gullringstorp!

Please, don’t forget, we need your help to name our new rooster. Please send in suggestions!

7 responses

  1. johkan

    I think he looks like a “Peter” 😉

    March 18, 2012 at 18:17

    • Hej Johanna !
      So glad you came back ! Thanks ! Peter! I like that. I will keep it in mind and let you know my final choice.
      Thank you and I hope you are having a relaxed Sunday!

      March 18, 2012 at 19:45

      • johkan

        Of course I came back 🙂 I liked it here :-D!

        Have a great Monday,

        /Johanna

        March 19, 2012 at 09:20

      • Good Morning Johanna !
        Great! always glad to have happy readers come again and again ! Did you get a snow storm this morning?
        We did here at Gullringstorp !COld and windy. It was so refreshing to be out in it.
        You have a great Monday also! I love Mondays! A new start!

        March 19, 2012 at 10:14

      • johkan

        Yes, well I woke up to rain and something that looked like a tornado :-S. Then hail and then snow! 🙂 Five minutes later we had sunshine, pretty interesting 🙂

        I love Mondays, too. This Monday was a bit special since we became Mrs and Mr in the morning 🙂

        A good way to start a new week :-D!

        BW, Johanna

        March 19, 2012 at 10:30

      • Hej Johanna !
        WOW ! Congratulations!

        March 19, 2012 at 10:37

      • johkan

        Thank you 🙂

        //Mrs 😉

        March 19, 2012 at 10:51

Leave a Reply

