My life in the country with my goats.com site

Emil our Rent – A – Buck Returns to Gullringstorp !!


It’s breeding time once again at Gullringstorp. We have Nanna, Keriana and Alika bred in December and will be due to deliver in the first part of May. Our other ladies, who delivered this past August are ready to breed once again. I had no choice but to request the services of Emil once again. Not only is he a charming gentle buck, but he makes beautiful babies!!

Emil has returned to Gullringstorp exactly one year later in the same month of March.

Emil arrived this morning with his owners Hans,  Lise - Lotte and their son

Emil arrived this morning with his owners Hans, Lise - Lotte and their son

I feel I must explain the ropes above our chicken’s yard.  My husband puts them there after a large hawk flew in and attacked and killed our nearly 3′ tall Brahma rooster. It may look a bit strange but it’s very effective. Our hens and tiny rooster Bojangles are safe now.

Look at those magnificent horns!

Look at those magnificent horns!

I have been waiting for Emil’s return with great anticipation.  I have to say that like  a mother hen, I have also been a bit concerned about how my little bucks would handle this new buck coming into their box. You see when Emil was at Gullringstorp last year, he had the box to himself. Little Man was not born yet and the other bucks were still bucklings and were in either with mothers or in the baby box. We no longer have any vacant boxes so the only place for Emil was the “boy’s box”. I have to say that last night’s sleep was not restful .  I imagined Emil being a buck in “must” and my little bucks could be seen as competition causing fights. I was a bit nervous to say the least.

Emil entered the box and he was in amazement at our tiny bucks!

Emil entered the box and he was in amazement at our tiny bucks!

Emil was curious and very gentle. My little bucks were scared!

Emil was curious and very gentle. My little bucks were scared!

Emil approaches Balder to meet him. There was no fight!

Emil approaches Balder to meet him. There was no fight!

Emil loves this table and being "King of the Hill"

Emil loves this table and being "King of the Hill"

My little buck Baby Boy tries to stay at a distance until he is sure Emil is not going to hurt him

My little buck Baby Boy tries to stay at a safe distance until he is sure Emil is not going to hurt him

Little Man and Baby Boy find comfort together in the corner

Little Man and Baby Boy find comfort together in the corner

Little Man looking at his "dad". Emil and Hilda made this handsome little buck

Little Man looking at his "dad". Emil and Hilda made this handsome little buck

My ladies have already been in “heat” this month, but they seem to be having “short heats”. This means instead of every 21 days my does can and often o into heat several times per month. Even though Emil may have missed last weeks “heat”, he is in luck because they may be back in heat next week or the week after. Emil will stay with us at least 2 months to ensure the ladies have been properly bred. Emil is a pleasure to have here at Gullringstorp and it is just unbelievable to look at my babies and see Emil in them.

After Emil’s family left Gullringstorp, I learned that they have plans to castrate Emil and place him out with the does. Oh no!!! What will I do??? Little Man can service Frida, Pumpkin, Keriana and Alika but not Hilda, his mother. Nanna, Iris, Petunia and Ivy can breed with either of my Pygmy bucks, Baby Boy or Balder. I will need another Nigerian to breed with Hilda, Rose, Pansy, Poppy and Peanut.

I will make an offer to buy Emil. My husband thinks that may not be an option, but you never know till you ask.

Wish us luck with our breeding and possibility to buy Emil.

2 responses

  1. johkan

    Hi Karyn! I found your blog via “östgötatidningen” but I think they spelled it wrong in the paper, right? Had to google your name to get to your blog. Just wanted to say hi, I’ll be back, I lked it here 🙂

    Have a great day,

    BR, Johanna

    March 15, 2012 at 16:59

    • Hej Johanna !

      I am sorry you had difficulty finding my blog. Not fun! But you found my blog, after all and I am glad for that. I am glad you enjoyed what you have seen so far and you are most welcome back!

      Kind of a cold day here but a great day anyway!

      March 15, 2012 at 17:13

Leave a Reply

