My life in the country with my goats.com site

EGGS, EGGS !!! COME AND GET OUR FRESH EGGS !!


Our lovely chickens most of whom are named, have been very busy since the start of our New Year! Every single time we enter their apartment, we find not one but sometimes up to 4 eggs in one of the laying boxes. First the eggs came from our beautiful Brahma chickens, then all of a sudden the eggs took on a different shape and size. So we are sure it was either Henny or Penny or their sister who have no names.

We have so many eggs that we can’t possibly eat them all. We have decided to give them to our close neighbors. Call it the barter system;  almost all of our close neighbors have assisted us here at Gullringstorp in one way or another.  Our eggs are a thank you for their kindnesses.

I am not such an expert on eggs, but we have been told by one of our close neighbor Bosse, that our eggs are delicious and that the yolks are the most yellow he and his wife Irene have ever seen! Good job girls ! They are producing delicious and beautiful eggs.

Every now and again I decide to make a ” Breakfast Dinner ” which includes  home fries, french toast and some type of yummy sausage or ham. A real treat for my Swedish husband. I use our eggs for the french toast batter. I am thinking about deviled eggs which we both love and so do my neighbors. I recently found a great  Egg Foo Yong recipe and am dying to try it. I really miss that particular Chinese dish here in Sweden. Lots of eggs can be used to make that dish. Here is the link to this recipe, in case you also love this dish, I just have to share  http://www.closetcooking.com/2012/01/egg-foo-young.html Let me know if you make it and how it turned out.

Here are  eggs and chickens: ( which came first, the chicken or the egg ? )

This egg was still warm when I found it!

This egg was still warm when I found it!

Here is an egg I fried this morning. Come to think of it, that yolk is rather YELLOW!

Here is an egg I fried this morning. Come to think of it, that yolk is rather YELLOW!

Just look at all these eggs!

Just look at all these eggs!

There’s an old saying; “be careful what you wish for because you just might get it” !  We said for so long, “where are our eggs”? Well our ladies were just waiting to ring in the New Year before they started to lay and now there is just no stopping them. We keep this overflow down in the basement in our cold room  and have 3 containers full in the refrigerator.

Here are some of our feathered beauties:

One of our lovely Brahmas with no name. Poor chicken. Do you think she minds?

One of our lovely Brahma chickens with no name. Poor chicken. Do you think she minds?

This is either Topsy or Turvy and so far we have seen evidence of their tiny , tiny eggs on the ground.

This is either Topsy or Turvy and so far we have seen evidence of their tiny , tiny eggs on the ground under their ladder roost.

My ladies on their roost with the man of house, Bojangles is at the top

My ladies on their roost with the man of house, Bojangles is at the top and my 4 plump Henny Penny chickens who are laying smaller eggs

Look at Henny or Penny. She is so fat and fluffy. she and her 3 sisters are just beautiful.

Look at our peach colored Henny or Penny. She is so fat and fluffy. she and her 3 sisters are just beautiful.

Thank you ladies for all the eggs !

I really wish I could send eggs to all of you !

 

2 responses

  1. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using
    WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, awesome site!

    May 12, 2013 at 06:20

    • Hej from Sweden!
      Great to hear from you Idaho! What a cute story…So glad to break your boredom with my blogI loaded up fast? Wonderful!!! I hope you continue to enjoy as you browse my other posts.
      Welcome back anytime!

      May 12, 2013 at 16:36

Leave a Reply

