My life in the country with my goats.com site

Pet of the Day: Tom & Jerry


This little country gal has enjoyed some city girl pleasures like the opera, and now it’s time to enjoy some more country pleasures.  As my many of my readers already know, all my goats here at Gullringstorp, are housed in a beautiful horse stable. Each evening we check on everyone and refill grain, water and provide fresh hay and straw  to each box. We haven’t had a winter full of snow , but we have had some very cold days and evenings. As a result, our stable has been full of tiny cute gray/brown mice. I am not worried when I see them because as we all know now, Sweden does NOT have ant cases of rabies. So these tiny cute creatures only make me jump when they sprint across my path in  the stable. I have a natural instinct to jump, just from being startled not from fright.

Three days ago, we were in Alika and Keriana’s box and as I was about to give more grain, I looked down in their food bowl and saw two of the tiniest , cutest faces I have seen in a long time. (where was my camera?) Two babies had jumped in and with the slippery sides, were unable to get out.  I knew immediately that these two babies had to be rescued. Unfortunately, as a result of having so many mice in the stable , we find drowned tiny  mice in the water buckets when we go to refresh our water buckets. I looked down at these tiny faces and had no choice but to take these babies home and make sure they never fell into a water bucket.

Meet Tom & Jerry:

The two babies were held in a raisin box while we finished up in the stable

The two babies were held in a raisin box while we finished up in the stable

Our new babies spent the night in the raisin box but the next day my husband and I set about to make them a proper home. He brought a spare fish tank we had stored in the basement. Then we were off to our local pet shop for supplies. We already had the shavings for their bedding, but we needed a water bottle and some sort of house.  I was so excited and my husband soon fell into the joy of preparing their new home. I saw the cutest log cabin house for them but Leif said NO so I had to do with a log we saw with several holes for them to run in and out of.

My new babies got new home and names the very next day

My new babies got new home and names the very next day

As we looked at all the neat supplies for our new babies, I took down a typical water bottle for them, but the shopkeeper showed my husband some new type of water container. I thought it was interested, but I kept saying no, let’s get the bottle. My husband was convinced by the shop keeper, we got that strange new gadget. So far the mice find it as strange as I do and have not figured it out yet.

How does this thing work????

How does this thing work????

Tom & Jerry just could not figure this thing out

Tom or Jerry just could not figure this thing out

Well he's getting closer to the water spout...

Well he's getting closer to the water-spout...

Looks like Tom or Jerry has had just about enough of this!

Looks like Tom or Jerry has had just about enough of this!

My prep bowls to the rescue. He finally found some water in a tiny prep bowl that the nor his pal could drown in.

My prep bowls to the rescue. He finally found some water in a tiny prep bowl that the nor his pal could drown in.

Enough water now for some grain, yummy !

Enough water now for some grain, yummy !

After a drink of water and some food, time for a bath

After a drink of water and some food, time for a bath

The babies really enjoy their log

The babies really enjoy their log

Fun on the log !

Fun on the log !

Enough of the log , time to go find a new place to play

Enough of the log , time to go find a new place to play

I recently moved my office down to another space in our library. Tom & Jerry are a wonderful addition. I enjoy knowing they are there and so do Pip, Tasha, Juliet and Pumpkin.

Pip & Tasha enjoy watching Tom & Jerry play !

Pip & Tasha enjoy watching Tom & Jerry play !

Welcome back as find out if Tom & Jerry get that log cabin after all.

2 responses

  1. This is so cute! I’ve never seen anyone make mice look so adorable. 🙂

    February 14, 2012 at 20:40

    • Hej from Sweden!

      Thanks for clicking “LIKE” button!! I just love mice and these two just stole my heart. Tom & Jerry will live a long, hopefully happy but for sure a safe life inside.
      Welcome back to my blog !

      February 15, 2012 at 18:13

Leave a Reply

