My life in the country with my goats.com site

What’s New at Gullringstorp


Life on a farm can have its ups and downs. Anyone who has goats can tell you that. Actually, life on a farm can have its ups and downs, no matter what kind of animals you might have.  I have been on an emotional roller coaster since the first of December.  There are times when you can say, oh great, that worked. There are times when you try your best to hold in your emotions and not let those tears fall. Then there are those times when the tears just won’t stop. To balance all of that, there are the times when you just can’t contain your happiness.

I held my tears in while I watched my little girls Chiyoko and Nakoa as they were loaded on to the horse trailer.  The tears did fall and there was the inevitable, tugging at my heart. All of these emotions have balanced out with the news that my two little girls are happy in their new home and have adjusted well.

Chiyoko and Nakoa with their new friends in their new home

Chiyoko and Nakoa with their new friends in their new home

I'm not sure if they have the same names, so here are my little girls enjoying the outdoors in their new home

We are so very happy to see that my little girls are happy and enjoying their new home !

Ok so that has been a recent happy part of goat ownership. Sorry to say that the reality of farm life brings both happy times along with some sad times.

I had noticed some questionable behavior in Pumpkin’s box. I have seen some unkind treatment of little Rose. I just thought what I saw was temporary. Then 2 days ago, while checking the goats in the morning, I witnessed Pumpkin holding little Rose in a corner and ramming her. When I yelled to get her attention she released her , Rose moved her position then Pumpkin looked like she was trying to breed Rose. I just felt that was way too much for little Rose to have to endure. I made an executive decision to move little Rose to another box. This was not an emotional decision,  I felt it was in Rose’s best interest. I was thinking of her safety. Where is CPS or GPS when you need it???

Rose went into the box with the baby girls, Iris,Ivy and Petunia. They are smaller than Rose so I felt she would not be a threat. Well I was not correct about that. My cute little Iris became the  bully from hell !!  She attacked poor Rose, non stop. I rationalized that Rose could deal with this and it would not last for long. Rose is a sturdy strong little doeling who could take a bump or two from a tiny Pygmy doeling. This had to be better than a pounding from and adult goat , even if it were her mother.

Rose cried for 3 days. On the 4th day she was crying like a toddler with the sniffles and all. It was heartbreaking ! Had I made the correct decision? Was this really in the best interest of little Rose? I actually dreaded my trip to the stable and dreaded  opening the stable door to hear her sad cries. It affected my entire days and evenings. I was so depressed and sad. I held back my tears thinking this was something I had to do. That didn’t last, the flood gates eventually opened.

Rose was placed back in with her mother last night, after I realized that Pumpkin was in heat. Rose is happy again and Pumpkin is calm , once again. I was a wreck all night and couldn’t sleep imagining the worst. I couldn’t go in the stable this morning , so my husband went in to report back. Rose and Pumpkin were happy, still in bed sleeping close together. What fantastic news !!! Happiness again!!!

I will remove Rose from the box when Pumpkin is in heat again, next month.

Rose is a happy baby again !

Rose is a happy baby again !

Well if Rose and Pumpkin weren’t enough, there was more. Our little buckling Little Man has grown up.  He has grown up, way too fast! I have seen him trying to mount his sister, but that was, in the beginning, natural goat behavior. But when he started to mount Hilda his mother, that was not alright. So here I go again with the ideas. It was time to introduce Little Man to the other bucklings. So for 2 days he was put into their box to meet each other. Of course each time he was placed in the box, he cried. That was a natural response and I made sure he had either myself or my husband in the box with him. I felt that would help him feel a little safer. It felt too soon for him to have to move out from his box with Hilda and Peanut. The third  day was the charm, as they say. I noticed not only his “bucky” sounds had increased, but he was now urinating on his head ! Well, that was that! He was there to stay. My little boy has grown up , right before my very eyes. He was born August 8th 2011 and is no longer a baby!

Needless to say, he is not happy. Not at all! He cries himself till he’s hoarse. I feel really bad. I mean really bad. Can you imagine his crying along with pitiful little Rose’s cries on the other end of the stable. It was really just too much. I know I just have to wait it out and he will be fine soon.

All I have been able to think about is how lovely he looked laying with Hilda and Peanut, how he enjoyed playing with Peanut and how he enjoyed running and playing with all the babies in the corridor of the stable. All these visions made me really sad that all that is over. Ok, yes I cried, again ! I guess I am just a softy when it comes to my animals. I just hate to have them unhappy. It kills me because I feel I should be the one to make every aspect of their lives good. I know that’s not realistic, but that’s pitfall of being a “farm mother”.

I know Little Man will settle down and be just one of the boys, real soon!

Little Man playing with sister Peanut on one of his play visits out of the boy's box

Little Man playing with sister Peanut while on one of his play visits out of the boy's box

Little Man having fun on the milking stand

Little Man having fun on the milking stand

Little Man finds safety on the table top as Balder comes to meet him

Little Man finds safety on the table top as Balder comes to meet him

Little Man meets Baby Boy

Little Man meets Baby Boy

All that meet and greet made Balder thirsty

All that meeting the new buckling, made Balder thirsty

Baby Boy is also thirsty from his "meet & greet"

Baby Boy is also thirsty from his meeting with the new buckling!

Little Man's not so sure he wants to stay in with the other bucklings

Little Man's not so sure he wants to stay in with the other bucklings

This is a sad little buckling, really makes me feel sad looking at that little face!

This right here, is a sad little buckling. That little face made me want to cry!

The boys are more interested in the hay than their new friend

The boys are more interested in the hay than their new friend

Little Man started to get comfortable enough to enjoy some delicious hay

Little Man started to get comfortable enough to enjoy some delicious hay

Little Man is getting settled in his new home, the boy's box

Little Man is getting settled in his new home, the boy's box

I know Little man like all my little babies have to grow up. They are like my little flowers, I water them, feed them , talk to them and love them. They are bound to grow and flourish. They are supposed to. They are supposed to grow out of their little families and move on to become the goats they are meant to be. I know all of this, but let me tell you it’s not easy.

You need to know that I am the same mother who cried in broad daylight on  the Champs -Elysees.  My then 20 yr old daughter who was studying her 3rd year of University, in Paris, announced she was moving out. The tears could not be stopped. I know now, as I knew then,  that she would one day want and need her own place.  She didn’t move out the next day, it just was an eventuality that she was beginning to think about and I was trying not to think about, at the time. She still teases me to this day about my tears on one of Paris’ most famous streets.

My daughter also reminded me that Little Man has to grow up. She told me I had done what needed to be done. Through my silly tears, I agreed with her and my husband.

Little Man has grown up. He was such a cute little fellow:

Little Man is no longer a baby. He will soon be a grown buck

Little Man is no longer a baby. He will soon be a grown buck

One response

  1. Your goats are adorable! You sound a lot like my mom, she actually called a family intervention when I mentioned I was moving to NYC (to be with my fiance – now husband). I had to fly home to The Bahamas to tell her when we were moving to Europe (this is not the kind of news I would deliver to my mom over the phone!) and there was yet another family intervention. Mom threatens that I’ll understand when I finally have kids.

    December 14, 2011 at 13:40

Leave a Reply

