My life in the country with my goats.com site

A New Friend for Rose


As I walk through the stable and check each box, I am particularly interested in the nursery boxes. I look to see how the mothers are doing and if they need anything, then I check to see how the babies are doing. I really pay close attention to how they have made their sleeping arrangements.

Since two of my 3 mothers have two babies, I usually see the babies cuddled together, with or without mother. Sometimes Hilda or Frida will be sleeping in another area of the box or just up enjoying grain or fresh hay. Either way, the babies have a cuddle partner.

My little Rose is the only baby now without a cuddle partner since we lost Miracle. I had noticed too often that she would be all alone when Pumpkin had decided to sleep in the upper berth of her box or was up as the other mothers were eating. The sight of tiny Rose all alone in a bed of straw, as comfy as I tried to make it for her , was still sad.

So, I bought her a little friend to cuddle with when she sleeps.

Rose meets her new friend

Rose meets her new friend

Rose decides the best way to get to know this new friend, is to have a taste

Rose decides the best way to get to know this new friend, is to have a taste

Rose is distracted by the sight and sound of Poppy and Pansy in the next box, through a space in the slats

Rose is distracted by the sight and sound of Poppy and Pansy in the next box, through a space in the slats

I really hope Rose like her new friend

I really hope Rose likes her new friend

Tiny Rose and her new friend

Tiny Rose and her new friend

Like all mothers, Pumpkin needs to inspect this new friend of her daughter's

Like all mothers, Pumpkin needs to inspect this new friend of her daughter's

My reason for giving Rose this stuffed dog is to give her someone to cuddle up with and play with. I watch the other babies and they have their built-in friend in their siblings. Rose does not have this so I just hope this helps her. I wouldn’t do this if she had been an only child, but she was not, she had a little friend to play with and to cuddle up against at nap time and bedtime. My husband has been in the stable and has seen Rose and her little friend cuddled up together, in her sleep corner. I have not been able to catch that on  my camera, yet. I hope to.

Peanut and her brother Little Man are out of their box everyday. They run and play as I clean boxes refill straw, hay and grain. They follow me to the sink to clean out water bowls and they really love to play in the storage box.

Peanut and Little Man playing on the straw stacks

Peanut and Little Man playing on the straw stacks

 

I have taken all the babies out of their boxes together so they can play together in the stable.  Tow things happen; first the mothers, at least Frida and Pumpkin go ballistic and want their babies returned, or after just a few minutes some of the babies cry to get back to mommy, which makes mommies cry even more.

Rose really enjoys coming out to play with Peanut and Little Man. She loves to run at the highest speed and suddenly , put on the brakes. She reminds me of a tiny colt. She has a ball until she realizes her mommy’s voice is among the loud voices. I do this for just a  few minutes a day so they see that they can be away from mommy and have a bit of baby goat fun, and they will always be returned to mommy. Rose comes to the door of her box when she hears my voice, so I feel she wants to come out and play , just a bit.

I have to say, I do worry a bit more about Rose than I do the others. Pumpkin is a wonderful mother, but I cannot ignore the fact that there was once another baby there and now her is not there. It has to have an impact on these two goats, mother and child.  I just don’t want to make it any harder on either of them.

That’s the “human” in me. Maybe goats get over things faster and better than I realize.

 

Leave a Reply

