My life in the country with my goats.com site

More Updates From the Nursery at Gullringstorp


I really had a difficult time to sleep last evening.  I was worried about Hilda and her new babies.  I wondered if my idea to make her enclosure smaller would actually help and if that would help her to  understand her new role as mommy to her babies.  I went to my library of goat information books and really found nothing to address this issue.  Then it hit me , the Internet!   There had to be a site where I could get information from real people who actually were experiencing the same with their goats.  I found it.

I was on the right track when I suggested we make Hilda’s box floor space smaller, but I read that it needed to be even smaller.   This would allow Hilda and her babies to really get each others scent.  This is important for the bonding of this new little family.  I didn’t get it at first, but there is a distinct possibility that Hilda has not bonded yet with her babies and if not,  there is where the problem is.  Then it occurred to me that if she hadn’t really bonded properly, then maybe there was a problem with her letting   down her milk!  I just couldn’t sleep.  I read even more.  I realized that there might indeed be an issue with her milk.  I remember wondering why her babies jumped from one teat to the next, all the time.  These babies needed supplemental feedings.  Out came the baby bottles and formula and towels for drips. The babies are now getting milk, for certain.

Like I said earlier, I want to do all I can to help Hilda be the best goat mommy she can be. I think she just needs some assistance. We are here to do just that.

This is the new fenced off area

This is the new fenced off area

Maybe the regular floor space in the box was just too large for Hilda.  It was great for her and Alika as she grew, but apparently, way to large for her new family.

This is the new size of their floor space in the box

This is a really cozy space now

The problem in this picture is that these two tiny babies have been sleeping snuggled together , without mommy’s warmth.   Hilda still kind of stand and just looks at them.

Hilda chooses to sleep and relax alone, in stark contrast to how Frida rests with her babies

Hilda chooses to sleep and relax alone, in stark contrast to how Frida rests with her babies

Frida always sleeps with her babies tucked up close. Result, happy secure babies.

Frida always sleeps with her babies tucked up close. Result, happy, secure, bouncing, exploring babies.

We are hoping that Hilda will bond in this new space, should take place within  24-48 hours.  The babies are getting supplemental feedings. Right now 2 oz every 2 hours. That will go up to 6 oz after a couple of days.  I may take Hilda out and place her on the milking stand to check her teats.  This is our first pregnancy and delivery, with Hilda. She has had babies before at the farm we bought her from.  This is really a learning curve for us.  I just don’t want to believe Hilda is a bad mother, especially after she adopted baby Alika at 3 months old.  She was just fantastic with her.  Maybe she doesn’t do babies so well.  That’s ok, we will help her!

In the meanwhile, Frida and her bouncing baby girls are doing just great!

Frida and her two bouncing baby girls

Frida and her two bouncing baby girls

There always seems to be a clear connection between Frida and her girls

There always seems to be a clear connection between Frida and her girls

This little one wants to get up with Mommy

This little one wants to get up with Mommy

She made it up!

She made it up!

I really need to get busy finding names for these babies!

Frida always checks on her babies, no matter how independent they try to be

Frida always checks on her babies, no matter how independent they try to be.

This little one can explore and enjoy while Frida stays close and keeps an eye on her

This little one can explore and enjoy while Frida stays close and keeps an eye on her

This little girl is so brave and so curious, with mommy never far away.

This little girl is so brave and so curious, with mommy never far away.

We are hoping that with the couple of tweaks we have done will help to keep every goat happy, Frida, Hilda and all the tiny ones.   Wish us luck with Hilda.  Hope with us  that she bonds properly and becomes the best mommy goat she can be.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

