My life in the country with my goats.com site

Updates From the Maternity Ward at Gullringstorp Part 2


Frida and her babies are all doing well. Her babies are bouncing all over the box and having a wonderful time. It is such a joy to watch them and Frida as she tries to keep track of them.

Yesterday at 12:45 in the afternoon, Hilda went into what appeared to me as labor.  She was making uncharacteristic sounds out in the enclosure.  I was in the stable when I heard unusual sounds. I am like a mother with a dozen children who know each of their cry sounds.  When I got out there,  all the other goats were looking at her and wondering what was going on. I knew. So once again the fencing was opened and Hilda knew it was for her and off she went, back to her box.

Hilda’s labor was very different from Frida’s.  Hilda was very quiet once she was back in the box.  It was really hard to tell if you didn’t know her, that she was actually in labor.  I kept a close eye on her until 4:30 when we left for the neighbor party.  I know, I know, how could I leave Hilda to go?  Well I weighed everything and made the decision to attend.  Hilda’s labor was not moving along very  quickly; and according to my time-table, (Frida in mind) we had at least 8 hours before we saw a baby.   Also as city dwellers and fairly new to the countryside and our tiny community, it was important to attend and join in the neighbor fun.  Everyone there knew about Frida and that it was now Hilda’s time. She and the others were a real topic of the evening at our table as well as how to store large amounts of hay and can we get some barley grain from a neighbor.   We had a wonderful time and  really enjoyed being with everyone again.  When I thought it was time to leave, it was early but everyone knew why. They knew we needed to be there with Hilda in case anything when array. I needed to be with her.

We arrived home at 7:30 to find that there were no babies yet, thank goodness.  Hilda was showing discomfort but very slightly. She stood most of her labor. As her contractions came while she was laying down, but soon got to her feet to “ride them out”.

Hilda stood most of her labor

Hilda stood most of her labor

Looks like Hilda is taking a rest, actually her rest time was on her feet

Looks like Hilda is taking a rest, actually her rest time was on her feet

I stayed with Hilda several hours while she labored. I spoke with my daughter in Glasgow around 11:30PM; my husband had brought our phone out to the stable.  I stayed in touch with my husband who was in the house via walkie-talkie to give him updates.  Hilda’s labor was moving, but  slowly.  I could see that Hilda was comfortable so I left and went into the house around 1:00 AM.  I made a cup of tea and actually changed into my jammies. What was I thinking? Well, my plan was to settle in bed for maybe an hour with my tea and a movie, then head back out to the stable. Well that plan didn’t work. I drank down my tea in the kitchen and cuddled Max and Pip on the couch, then pulled my stable pants back on under my robe. I went right back out to Hilda.

Hilda started to push at 2:00 AM

Hilda just had a contraction

Hilda just had a contraction

Hilda pushing at 3:00AM

Hilda pushing at 3:00AM

Finally, Hilda accepted and drank her molasses water

Hilda was not as crazy over the molasses water as Frida, but finally, she accepted and drank all her molasses water

The delivery process has started

The delivery process has started

I kept a close eye on her to see if a baby was coming

I kept a close eye on her to see if a baby was coming

I called my husband who was asleep and let him know that there would soon be a baby! He came running  out to the stable.

When he came there was no baby yet.  Hilda had passed a mucus plug and then was screaming.  After a very stoic labor for 12-13 hours, her screaming really frightened me. She was pushing like mad and there was nothing but more mucus.  All I could think was, what if something goes wrong?  Who do we call and how soon could they arrive if we needed them?  When my husband arrived, he was surprised at her screams and he also was hoping she was alright.  I mad the mistake of holding Frida’s labor and delivery as a benchmark. WRONG!  I knew that, but it was a safe feeling to have .  It meant that Hilda would be ok and so would first time mother Pumpkin also.  I know and realized, this was Hilda’s labor and Hilda’s delivery and I just had to go with what ever came but be ready as usual for any problems.

Baby #1 was born to a standing mother at 3:30 AM August 7

Baby #1 was born to a standing mother at 3:30 AM August 7

It took what seemed lick an eternity for this baby to move, and for Hilda to attend this baby

It took what seemed lick an eternity for this baby to move, and for Hilda to attend this baby

Even still in the amniotic sac this baby was talking to mommy

Even still in the amniotic sac this baby was already talking to mommy

This was a much larger baby than either of Frida's babies. A lot to clean for Hilda

This was a larger baby than either of Frida's babies. A lot to clean for Hilda

Even while in the sac, it was clear this was Hilda's clone, what a cutie!

Even while in the sac, it was clear this was Hilda's clone, what a cutie!

Just minutes old and this baby knows instinctively that there is milk, somewhere

Just minutes old and this baby knows instinctively that there is milk, somewhere

This little one was on the way somewhere, but Mommy said it was bath time

This little one was on the way somewhere, but Mommy said it was bath time

Hilda did something that at first seemed really strange.  She backed up, away from her newborn and looked her  baby square  in the face.  She really LOOKED at her new baby as if  awestruck by the wonder of it all.  Once I realized what she was doing, I was so touched.  It was so very definite and beautiful. Hilda was in love with her baby.

Love at first sight!

Love at first sight!

20 minutes later at 3:50 baby # 2 was born.

20 minutes later at 3:50 baby # 2 was born.

Baby # 1 watches as Hilda attends to Baby # 2

Baby # 1 watches as Hilda attends to Baby # 2

Only minutes old and Baby #2 is up on those tiny legs!

Only minutes old and Baby #2 is up on those tiny legs!

Hilda and her new little family

Hilda and her new little family

As I finish this post I looked at the clock and realized that Baby #1 is now 24 hours old!

It was a wonderful, long night.  I am so glad we were both there to witness the birth of these two babies and know that Hilda was fine.  When the babies started to chit-chat with Mommy, the entire stable woke up at 4:00 AM. Frida was trying to see, the little girls next door, Chiyoko, Nakoa and Nanna were trying to see over the wall and Pumpkin and Frida were having a conversation.  Then I heard Alika and Keriana who had been moved to their own box before Frida delivered, then the boys woke up.  It was a chorus of goat sounds, with the sweetest being the babies from both boxes and the two sets of twins.

We are so happy! Gullringstorp is alive with new life!

Welcome back for Updates From the Nursery at Gullringstorp to see how all the babies are developing.

Leave a Reply

