My life in the country with my goats.com site

Spring / Summer at Gullringstorp


Before I write about today’s subject , I would first like to thank everyone who has read my blog. I am happy to say that I have had over 400 readers, and climbing!! Wow!! That’s great. Thank you all. I hope that you continue to log on and read about my life in the country with my goats. If you have any requests, anything you would like to see on my blog please let me know and I will try to provide it.  Many of my readers may have noticed a change. Well your eyes are not deceiving you, I have changed my blog format. I wanted a cleaner appearance and hope I have achieved that. What are your thoughts? I am interested to know which format you like best. Once again, thank you for reading and please remember,  you are very welcome back to learn more about my life in the country with goats.

Swedish Spring is really something to behold.  After long dark winters, it is a real treat for all the senses.  For so many months we have snow,wind and cold temperatures. During this time, almost all the plant life in Sweden turns brown. I am so thankful and lucky to have so many evergreen plants on the property. So when all the leaves fall and the temperatures drop, Gullringstorp is still beautiful.  When the snows melt away, however, everyone including Gullringstorp have brown lawns and all the hedges are like sad brown twigs.  To look at them, you could never imagine that they could every look green and plush again.

Spring arrives in Sweden in the blink of an eye.  You can look at the surrounding landscapes and say how depressing it looks and feel really sad that there is hardly any green.  Then one morning you wake up, and in spite of continued cold temperatures, Spring is on its way.  There may even still be snow on the ground and spring will still come.

Spring comes through the snow

Spring comes through the snow

All the hedges start to sprout tiny green shoots, any bulbs that were planted in the fall  or last year start to grow and the trees begin to get their leaves again.  It is a sight for sore eyes I tell you!

The time has come to clean out all the bird houses that are scattered around the property and have them ready for inspection for new families.  The birds come and begin to gather nesting materials and the males set up house and try to attract the females.  There is a chorus of the most lovely sounds in the trees.  As the hedges begin to fill in, they become alive with the most beautiful birds and bird sounds. Soon the birds have chosen their homes, set up house and we wait to hear the sound of the new little chicks. We watch the parents as they fly away for food and return to feed the chicks.  My husband has placed bird houses high up in our trees, so we have no reason to travel to a nature reserve to enjoy the comings and going of bird life her at Gullringstorp.  Any where you stand or sit you can view these the bird housed and watch the activities.  From my kitchen window, I can watch as birds make homes under the eaves of the stable.  We also are able to watch as the birds either take a drink, or a bath in our pond.  They also like to have some of the first cherries to appear on the tree.

Bird enjoys cherries on a rainy spring day at Gullringstorp

Bird enjoys cherries on a rainy spring day at Gullringstorp

Bird setting up house at Gullringstorp

Bird setting up house at Gullringstorp

We have many visitors come to Gullringstorp during the spring. Here a just a few:

Our resident hedgehog has a drink at the pond

Our resident hedgehog has a drink at the pond

Our resident pheasant Henry who visits every spring

Our resident pheasant Henry who visits every spring

This is Mrs. Duck who came to visit in the spring with Mr. Duck

This is Mrs. Duck who came to visit in the spring with Mr. Duck

After a little swim, it was time for a little sun.

After a little swim, it was time for a little sun.

Back in for another swim

Back in for another swim

All the plants at Gullringstorp just seem to come alive.  The trees become full of leaves, the hedges fill out and begin to sway in the wind and the flowers start to bloom.  I don’t know if they are just beautiful in their own right or if the are beautiful because they have appeared after a long dark  and snowy winter.   All I know is that I just love to see them :

Tulips I planted before we even moved into the house, come back.

Tulips I planted before we even moved into the house, come back.

The Rhododendron come back every spring. Look at the buds!

The Rhododendron come back every spring. Look at the buds!

Full hedges

New sprouts on hedges

These tiny blue flowers are found all over the countryside in Sweden

These tiny blue flowers are found all over the countryside in Sweden

Lilacs bloom in the spring

Lilacs bloom in the Spring

Potted pansies are also quite popular in Swedish gardens.

Potted pansies are also quite popular in Swedish gardens.

All the hedges come in and look beautiful.

All the hedges come in and look beautiful ( these just had a trim).

This is just one of my varieties of peonies, my favorite flower.

This is just one of my varieties of peonies, my favorite flower.

A peony cut for a vase.

A peony cut for a vase.

Just another view of spring at Gullringstorp

Just another view of spring at Gullringstorp

Our Swedish Spring is really quite short.  With another blink of an eye,  you will find yourself in Swedish Summer!  It is so fantastic to watch the seasons unfold her in Sweden. Each season bring with it miracles galore. From the fall with all its brilliant colors, to the winters with its  beautiful, one of a kind ice crystals, to the snow which the native people of Sweden , the Sami once known as Lapps, have 27 names for, to the plush greenery and the brilliant colors of  the Spring and Summer.  I feel very foutunate to live here in Sweden and to be able to see, smell, feel and hear all the seasons as they unfold.

I hope you enjoyed a little taste of Spring and Summer at Gullringstorp.

Thank you for logging on, reading and enjoying. Please remember I welcome any comments or questions. Feel free to leave your thoughts in English or Swedish.

Welcome back to see what else is happening at Gullringstorp!

6 responses

  1. Very cool. I like the new format a lot and the photos.

    June 17, 2011 at 22:34

    • Hej from Sweden,

      Thanks rachelmarlene! Happy to hear you like the new format. I like this new format also but I was just worried my readers preferred the old one. My blog is for the readers and their opinion counts. I’m glad you like the photos, there will be many more coming.
      Thank you for logging on, reading and enjoying and leaving me a comment! Welcome back to see what else is happening at Gullringstorp and my life in he country with goats.
      gullringstorpgoatgal

      June 18, 2011 at 10:18

  2. Nice pics.

    Arvind K.Pandey

    http://indowaves.wordpress.com/

    June 18, 2011 at 10:59

    • Hej from Sweden,
      Thanks for your comment! I really enjoy photography and here at Gullringstorp, I have so much to choose from.
      Please come again and I hope you enjoy more photos and learn about my life in the country with goats.
      There is still so much more to see at Gullringstorp!

      June 18, 2011 at 12:00

  3. Fina bilder! Du verkar ha en jättefin idyll där borta!

    June 20, 2011 at 19:57

    • Hej from Sweden,

      Tack så mycket!!! Var är hem för dig? Är du i sverige? Du är välkommen tilbacka!

      gullringstorpgoatgal

      June 21, 2011 at 13:41

Leave a Reply

