My life in the country with my goats.com site

We Have a Rent-A-Buck !!!


Before I write about today’s subject , I would first like to thank everyone who has read my blog. I am happy to say that I have had over 400 readers!! Wow! That’s great. Thank you all. I hope that you continue to log on and read about my life in the country with my goats. If you have any requests, anything you would like to see on my blog please let me know and I will try to provide it.  Once again, thank you for reading and please remember,  you are very welcome back to learn more.

Everyone here at Gullringstorp is all settled in and growing so beautifully. My little babies are now yearlings, little Alika is now a yearling, Pumpkin, my yearling is now 2 yrs old and Hilda is still taking care of Little Alika. And the queen of the herd Frida is maintaining her position. She is the definite head of this little herd. Everyone knows their place  and their rank,and respect Frida.

These lovelies are not just pets, but I hope to get fresh goat milk from them. Goat milk is one of natures true nectars. But I will save this for another post. That really isn’t the topic for today’s post.

The time has come for my ladies to be bred. I have started a breeding program with my little lovelies. Oh dear, we had NO buck on the property!!! Little Flynn can not perform this for us so we gave serious thought about buying a buck or two. the problem with that was, these were adult bucks, and let me tell you, I have had my share of “grab bag” goats. I just happened to luck out with Frida’s temperament. She is very gentle with her babies, but she does  assert her rank, and sometimes she is a bit mischievous. she has a John Wayne walk which just makes me laugh and she loves a good chase around the pasture. The issue with her udder is easily taken care of, I am just sorry for her that it went untreated for so long, before we got her. So long story short, we did not buy an adult buck. they are notorious for a “bucky” smell  that can take over a barn or stable. Not only that, they sometimes mistake the owner for the female doe and can attempt to mount. They can be quite insistent and they are strong, even if they are dwarf miniature breeds like I have. They can be a bit dangerous.

We contacted the farm where we purchased Pumpkin and they were more than happy to loan us their beautiful buck. Not only is he beautiful, but has a lovely temperament. We had him for two months. We had to be sure the goats that were bred did not come back into heat. So far they did not and we are very pleased about that.

Emil’s parents brought him by this past March. He arrived in the back  of their truck. That was a great sign, he didn’t arrive in a create. He was led to the stable by a leash. Another good sign. Oh I felt so lucky!

Please meet Emil our Rent-A-Buck:

Emil arrives to Gullringstorp

Emil arrives to Gullringstorp

Emil's arrival

Emil's arrival

Isn’t he just so handsome?!?!? I think so anyway.  As you can see by his being on a leash he has to be calm and gentle and he is.

Emil exploring his new "home -away-from-home"

Emil exploring his new "home -away-from-home"

Just look at those magnificent horns. His age is unclear so I really can not even begin to imagine how old he might be. Usually,  you  might be able to hazard a guess based on the size of his horns, but that is not always the case.  It doesn’t  really matter, just a curiosity. My little wether (male castrated goat) Flynn, for some reason has not developed at the same rate as his twin sister Keriana. He is tiny and has remained the size he was at 6 month. He is over a year now and he still has his “baby” horns. So, as you can see, I really can’t go by him either. Oh well, it’s not so important. Emil is here and looking like a king!

Emil's headshot

Emil's headshot ( the flash caused his eyes to be blue)

Bucks live a more rugged life than the does and kidds do. They do not have the pampering the others normally have.  At his real home, Emil who is housed separately from the does, is constantly looking for ways to escape and join the females. This will lead to scratched faces, rubbed off hair and  a general disheveled look. Like I said rugged. But this just adds to his handsomeness, for me anyway.

Emil performed his duties and remained with us until the beginning of May. We just had to be sure that the ladies he “serviced” did not come into heat again. If they had, we still had Emil for another try.

Here are the does who were bred:

These are my senior does
Frida, who has given birth once before at Gullringstorp

Frida, who has given birth once before at Gullringstorp

Hilda who has given birth at least once at another farm

Hilda who has given birth at least once at another farm

This is my junior doe
Pumpkin 2 yr old first time bred
Pumpkin 2 yr old first time bred
Let’s look at some of the changes in appearance in my does:
Frida now pregnant and somehow she has had a perm and now has a curly side coat

Frida now pregnant and somehow she has had a perm and now has a curly side coat

Hilda's baby bump is really starting to show, she still has her winter down

Hilda's baby bump is really starting to show, she still has her winter down

Pumpkin and hr slight baby bump

Pumpkin and her slight baby bump

 

By my calculations, we should have babies at Gullringstorp around mid August, late August and first of September.  Nigerian Dwarf goats can be bred year round, making them ideal for any breeding schedule. Good for me because this means I can have fresh milk year round. Gestation is 145 days, sometimes up to 150 days , which is a relatively short amount of time. The number of kidds that are born to a particular goat,  depends on how they were born. If they were an only kidd, chances are they will give birth to only one kidd. If they were a twin, triplet or quad, then there is a greater chance of multiple births. This is the rule, but as we all know, mother Nature has a say in this also. so it really will be a surprise. I just can’t wait!! I will keep you all posted , of course.

Thank you for logging on, reading and I hope you enjoyed!  Please come back, log on, read , enjoy and feel free to leave me a comment, in English or Swedish. Remember, I welcome any questions or comments!
There is so much more happening at Gullringstorp!

2 responses

  1. Thanks for sharing

    June 18, 2011 at 21:11

    • Hej from Sweden,

      I glad you enjoyed! Do you have goats? Do you have a buck or plan to get a buck?
      You are welcome back to learn more about my life in the country with my goats.

      June 19, 2011 at 11:59

Leave a Reply

