My life in the country with my goats.com site

Two New Beauties Come To Gullringstorp !!


Before I write about today’s subject , I would first like to thank everyone who has read my blog. I am happy to say that I have had 400 readers!! Wow! That’s great. Thank you all. I hope that you continue to log on and read about my life in the country with my goats. If you have any requests, anything you would like to see on my blog please let me know and I will try to provide it.  Once again, thank you for reading and please remember,  you are very welcome back to learn more.

Life in the Gullringstorp stable finally settled down to a peaceful , calm tempo by May.  Frida remained attentive and motherly as she cared for Keriana and Flynn. Between her constant loving care and the supplemental feedings they were getting, the babies grew and were no longer the kitten sized babies they began life as. They were up and running around their box and they even had play time in the long corridor of the stable. We opened up the door dividing the two sides and let then run and frolic and play.
Keriana 2 months old

Keriana 2 months old

Frida and her two babies at 2 months old

Frida and her two babies at 2 months old

By this time, Pumpkin was not only introduced to Frida and the babies, but she moved in with them. We actually opened up 2 boxes for them to share.  At first Frida was not so kind. She was actually a bit mean to Pumpkin. I understood Frida was just establishing the pecking order in this new little herd. With Jalle and Julius gone, Frida rose to  the top rank as “queen”. It didn’t take long for Pumpkin, my new yearling to understand her place. To this day as a 2 year old , she remains just below Frida in our herd.
Once the ladies calmed down, there was much fun to be had, in the stable. We had not fixed our fencing yet after the long hard winter. There were many things that needed attention and repairs around the property, after the snows finally melted. The fencing was important but there were things that my husband found to more important. So there continued “indoor activities” for a bit longer. This time Pumpkin was included:
Pumpkin with Frida and her babies
Pumpkin with Frida and her babies
Frida having fun with Flynn as Keriana looks on

Frida having fun with Flynn as Keriana looks on

Frida and her babies

Frida and her babies

As you can see, all was calm and everyone was getting along and happy. An order was developed and we knew who was at the top and what to expect should we decide to add to our herd. Well, we decided to add and we were lucky enough to get not just one but two beauties from the same farm!
It is my pleasure to introduce Hilda a 2 year old and Alika who was the same age as Keriana and Flynn 2  months old . Hilda retained her name she was given at the farm, but I changed Alicia to a Nigerian name Alika. Since Hilda’s own baby had been sold and Alika was now parted from her mother, the two started a new family unit, Hilda adopted Alika. they were given a box to them selves and gradually, over time introduced to the rest of the herd:
Hilda

Hilda

Hilda and Alika always sleep together

Hilda and Alika always sleep together

Alika in the bucket we brought her home in

Alika in the bucket we brought her home in

Little Alika

Little Alika

Hilda enjoying some hay

Hilda enjoying some hay

 

Our Swedish spring finally came and before we knew it, it was June.  If there is a bad winter, then Swedish spring is very short and suddenly, we are in summer.  We were able to get the fence for the goat enclosure done.  It took quite some time because the horse paddock we had planned to use, was really large.  It was all fenced in and had electric wire run, but that was for keep horses and large steer in, not at all suitable for goats. My husband ran 4 lines of electric wire above and below the existing poles, but we soon learned that was not sufficient. We ended up running six electric ropes in addition to the existing poles. That was much better. Now June had come and our goats could finally come out and play! It was a wonderful sight to behold. They ran, jumped and looked like little fillies in the field of flowers and long grass. Look and see my goats at play outside for the first time since winter:
My husband bringing the ladies out to pasture

My husband bringing the ladies out to pasture

My husband leads Pumpkin on a leash

My husband leads Pumpkin on a leash

Pumpkin enjoying a little sunshine

Pumpkin enjoying a little sunshine

Hilda deciding where to go next

Hilda deciding where to go next

Since we had no trees in the paddock, my husband chopped branches and secured them up so they could “browse” naturally. Here you can see Frida rubbing her horns on the branches and nibbling on leaves as her babies tried it also. Alika is having fun on the plank we put there for the little ones to be able to reach the branches.
Frida rubbing her horns on the branch while the babies eat

Frida rubbing her horns on the branch while the babies eat

Frida nibbles a branch while babies eat leaves

Frida nibbles a branch while babies eat leaves

Goats out at pasture
Beautiful Hilda
Beautiful Hilda
Frida taking a rest

Frida taking a rest

Hilda and Alika

Hilda and Alika

Straw bales are great for eating, running against and jumping on

Straw bales are great for eating, running against and jumping on

Is there a goat in that tall grass?

Is there a goat in that tall grass?

Little Alika in the grass

Little Alika in the grass

Everyone decided it's time to head for the shelter

Everyone decided it's time to head for the shelter

Hilda and Alika resting with Keriana looking on

Hilda and Alika resting with Keriana looking on

I just need to stop here!!!! I have taken so many photos of my little herd that I could go on forever!! Better stop for now.
Let’s update my herd head count. I started out with 3, Frida, Jalle and Julius. Jalle and Julius were re-homed yet my herd remained at 3 with the addition of Keriana and Flynn. Then came Pumpkin which made 4. Then we were real lucky to get Hilda and Alika which brought our little herd count up to 6.
Thank you for logging on, reading and I hope you enjoyed!  Please come back, log on, read , enjoy and feel free to leave me a comment, in English or Swedish.
There is so much more happening at Gullringstorp!

Leave a Reply

