My life in the country with my goats.com site

Frida’s Surprise!!!


Before I write about the subject of the day, I would first like to thank everyone who has read my blog. I am happy to say that I have had 200 readers!! Wow! That’s great. Thank you all. I hope that you continue to log on and read about my life in the country with my goats. If you have any requests, anything you would like to see on my blog please let me know and I will try to provide it.  Once again, thank you for reading and please you are very welcome back to learn more.

Now to my Frida. When she arrived to us in October, after learning that she was pregnant, I thought her roundness was an indication of just that. She blossomed into a beautiful pregnant doe as we took very good care of her. She had fresh hay and straw twice daily and as much grain as she could eat.  She as well as Jalle and Julius  got fresh veggies and fruit at breakfast and dinner.

Since these three were my very first goats and Frida was pregnant, I took no chances.  We called a vet in to examine her and to make sure everything was going well.  To our disappointment, the vet knew very little about goats and said “well I guess she is pregnant “. She could not tell when she would deliver. So we had to guess, based on when we purchased her.  I also needed to know exactly how old she was. The vet could not tell me that either. Well, through time and experience with the other goats that  eventually came to Gullringstorp, I realized that Frida was not 3 yrs old as her previous owner said, but more like 8-10 yrs old.

All three goats had to spend the winter in the stable due to the harsh winter we experienced that year. Here are just a few photos to show the amount of snow we had:

Having a tractor really helps in the winter

Having a tractor really helps in the winter

Gullringstorp in winter

Gullringstorp in winter

Snow drifts make it impossible to open the stable door

Snow drifts make it impossible to open the stable door

The snow looks like whipped cream!

The snow looks like whipped cream!

Not only was there a huge amount of snow to move  at Gullringstorp that year, but we had a weather condition that produced the most beautiful ice crystals on all the trees.

Trees full of ice crystals

Trees full of ice crystals

More ice crystals at Gullringstorp

More ice crystals at Gullringstorp

While it snowed and temperatures kept dropping, Frida, Jalle and Julius were snug and as warm as could be inside. I knew that Frida’s time was coming. She was “nesting”. so that spot that became her nest was kept clean with fresh straw and hay with in a mouth’s reach. All the books said that Frida  should  be moved to a “birthing stall”. I felt  just the opposite. Call it “home birth” if you will, but I saw how comfortable and safe she felt just where she was, with her two stall mates. So there she remained and there, on one very early morning in March, in the middle of a Swedish winter, Frida gave birth to twins, a boy and a girl!!!  At 7:30 am my husband who was leaving for a business appointment , checked in on Frida and discovered her new babies! He called me via cell phone and I grabbed my winter coat to cover my jammies and winter boots and hat and camera and flew down to the stable. My husband and i stood there feeling the pride that I imagine new grandparents must feel. My husband was beaming and I was so full of so much happiness and relief I could not speak. My mouth was just open in shock and surprise and utter delight. The new babies were snuggled up close to mommy looking so loved and so safe. Frida was just the perfect new mother. It was quite cold in the stable so Leif installed   a heat lamp over the “nursery” to help keep the babies warm. These two beautiful babies were born the day after St. Patrick’s Day and since as an American, I have celebrated this every year of my life, it meant something to me. My new babies had Irish names, Keriana and Flynn. I introduce you to Frida a new mommy and Keriana and Flynn:

Frida and her new babies on the morning of their birth

Frida and her new babies on the morning of their birth

Frida and babies

Frida and babies

Happy goat family; Frida, babies and Julius the dad

Happy goat family; Frida, babies and Julius the dad

Just hours old and they are already up on their tiny hooves

Just hours old and they are already up on their tiny hooves

The babies were so tiny, like  little kittens were up and about so very quickly. Frida had done a fine job at their birth. There was nothing in the box to let one know there had been a birth except those beautiful little babies. She had cleaned up everything and them also. She was a very lovely mother and at   point I realized that this was NOT  her first birthing experience. No way! She handled everything like a seasoned pro. I was now aware that she had given birth before and obviously had her babies taken from her. I was in the position to let Frida keep her babies, this time. I found it not only my duty to her but my absolute pleasure to know that she would be able to raise these two little ones and she would soon learn that they would NEVER be separated from her. We were able to have the pleasure of watching her and her babies as they grew. But first they had to be babies and it was our job to keep their mother happy and to help her to keep them warm. In spite of the heat lamp that Leif had installed for them, the temperature had dropped to -10 C in the stable. I had a solution, one that my husband laughed at, sweaters then jackets when needed. They looked so cute!

The babies really needed their sweaters

The babies really needed their sweaters

Little Keriana in her nice warm sweater

Little Keriana in her nice warm sweater

As they outgrew their sweaters, it was time for little jackets to keep their body heat

As they outgrew their sweaters, it was time for little jackets to keep their body heat

Jalle and Julius were fine for a while , but then they both became in heat and we needed to separate them from Frida and the babies. They were just a bit out of control and so we ended up having to replace the partition that we took away to enlarge the box for them when they arrived to us. I think Frida was a bit relieved and didn’t have to worry about the babies any more. Julius, her “husband” was always looking over the wall to see her and the babies. I felt a bit bad at first, but remembered it was for the safety of the babies.

Jalle and Julius

Jalle and Julius

Julius

Julius

The boys were on their own and Frida was basking in motherhood and Keriana and Flynn were flourishing in her motherly love. It was just delightful to watch as the babies grew and Frida was assured her babies were hers. Maybe it was just me , I don’t know, but she seemed very secure and comfortable with her new little family.

Please check back and see just how Keriana and Flynn grew and learn about what the future held for Jalle and Julius and Gullringstorp.

Thank you for reading, please come again, read, enjoy and remember I welcome any questions. Please feel free to leave your comments, in Swedish as well as English.

Leave a Reply

